Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Unique Random numbers

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello, Im pretty new to AppGameKit and programming in general and I just stumbled upon my first problem.

I need to generate say 4 unique numbers between 1-100. I have tried alot of different ideas but nothing seems to work. Anyone has any ideas how this can be done ? Thanks
The Zoq2
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Nov 2011 16:03
Random (1, 100)

Srry about my english im from sweeden
Mesterkatten
Years of Service
User Offline
but I will not get unique numbers if im doing more then one right?

this:

rnd1 = random (1, 100)
rnd2 = random (1, 100)
rnd3 = random (1, 100)
rnd4 = random (1, 100)

might result in 5,5,5,5
Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Nov 2011 17:00
This will give you four unique numbers from 1 to 100.

Mesterkatten
Years of Service
User Offline
Awsome, Thanks.
Will try to understand how it works though
Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Nov 2011 19:20
It's like shuffling a deck of cards. Each card is always unique, but it changes position in the deck. The numbers are randomly swapped in the array 1000 times, you then use the first four.
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Nov 2011 22:43
I would use exactly the same method for unique numbers. But I get paranoid and shuffle 100 times more than the numbers in the array (e.g 100 numbers = 10000 swaps)

Does AppGameKit have a problem with randomising the random numbers? For example, most languages have the same series of random numbers, in DBP we RANDOMIZE TIMER()

Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline