Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / cant Get Sparks DLL to work in my program

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Nov 2011 23:11
Can't seem to get the collision routine in my program working properly. I drop the player from above onto the ground but the player sinks through the floor. I am using Sparks DLL which I have never used before. Can anyone please help me debug my code.

"There are no perfect ideas only perfect intentions"
LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Nov 2011 06:37 Edited at: 21st Nov 2011 18:35
I had to make a cylinder for your player since I don't have your media. 2.0 for a radius# is small, so I changed it to 8.0. It shows the wireframe of the collision sphere as well as the player in front of the camera. I didn't see why you needed a separate camera, so I deleted the playercam camera. Also, I change the player rotation, as TURN will cause the angles to weird out.

Also, you want gravity to take place after you have stored the player's coordinates in your collision check routine. As you can see, I moved your SimulatedGravity subroutine call into the playermove subroutine.

There is more to do here, but this should at least get you to where you have collision.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
TheComet
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Nov 2011 10:44
Your problem is here:

You move the object up and down, and then you perform a collision check using the old positions. This will of course not result in a collision. Changing it to this should make it work:

TheComet

Jonk
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Nov 2011 17:55
Thank you LBFN and TheComet for helping me with my code
the code that I posted earlier seems to now work with your help