Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / How do I animate a Tank?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi All,
I'm really new to DarkGDK and I am still learning, so please forgive me if this is really simple.

I am writing a simple game in order to learn DarkGDK. I would like to have a "Tank" and drive it around my world and shoot the bad guys.

I have created a very simple 3d mesh of my tank which consists of 3 parts, the Tank body, the turret and the Gun. What I would like to know is how would I have the turret rotate and the gun raise and lower.

I'm planing to use keyboard controls to drive the tank and mouse to control the turret/gun so I'd like to have the 3 item moving independently.

I have already coded enough to get my tank moving around ,y landscape, I'm just not sure how to get the turret to rotate and the gun to raise/lower.

Thanks in advance
Hassan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Nov 2011 11:34 Edited at: 25th Nov 2011 11:42
a very simple way is this:
first off, you will need this setup:
-tank, turret and gun are exported as separate models

-turret is a cylinder-like shape (generally..), you will want to have the center of the circle (cross-section of the cylinder) at the center x/z in model space, y (height) of the turret is not important

-gun must be at the origin (x,y,z 0,0,0), i mean the beginning of it, and will probably be parallel to Z axis in model space

now for the code:
-have your turret to be positioned exactly at the same place as your tank (or if you have the turret y(height) centered, move it UP x units (x = turret height)(do that AFTER next step))