Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Game menu screen

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello I have made a quick menu by using the Darkprinciples tutorial 9 on youtube and have come up with the following code. Although the menu functions well I want to be able to use the menu at any time during the program by pressing the Escape key and i do not know how to do this as I am brand new to darkbasic.
Furthermore It appears I have used a silly method of menu creation using sprites for rollover buttons seem to be much more appropriate but I am unaware of how to do this and I would settle for what I have currently. Thank you for reading

-James
Burning Feet Man
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Dec 2011 00:58
I remember tackling this problem the first time, it's a tricky one!

I found that once I discovered and learnt about timer based movement, I could literally control time in my program.

Take an RTS with tanks moving around. The speed of those tanks is running off of calculations which are using an output from the Timer_Based_Movement() function mixed with a Tank_Movement() function.

One way to stop all the tanks, in effect pausing your game, is to add flexibility to your TBM() & Tank movement function so that they can handle independent pausing, whilst other things can continue to move.

This way, you hit spacebar to Pause, all the tanks stop, yet you can still move a mouse cursor over a 3D button that continues to spin whilst the rest of your game is paused.

As I said, Timer Based Movement is hard at first, but you'll understand it so long as you start to experiment with it.

Here's how I implement TBM in all my games;