Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Physigons. A PhysX™ sandbox game. Free.

Author
Message
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 18th Dec 2011 03:44 Edited at: 3rd Mar 2012 05:37


Physigons


A PhysX™ sandbox game.



Current version 1.2.1




In Physigons, you have no objective or task. You are in a simple world in which you build whatever you like. Then you can destroy it! Physigons uses the power of PhysX™ by Nvidia® to provide an epic physics simulation.

Build things!
-fly around in all directions
-place and remove blocks
-change the color of the blocks. Lots of colors and alpha transparency!
-change the size of blocks, x, y, and z sizes are independent

Destroy things!
-full rigid body 3D physics simulation
-left click to shoot a ball
-run into things to knock them over

Other features!
-saves your map before starting the simulation, destroy it over and over!
-infinite objects
-shadow effect
-infinite world(you can build out from the starting platform)

Download!

Development Blog

Ideas for future updates:
means in the most recent version, available to download.
means completed, not released.
means in progress.
means not started, but selected for next update.
means not started.
means I ran into a problem.

Shadow shading
More intuitive resize system
Run into items to knock them over
Different block placing method(allow angles)
Different types of shapes
Multiplayer!
Different types of weapons
Static AND dynamic items
Multiple saves
Better save/load system which doesen't make you constantly exit and come back.
Menus+Options
Sounds(Well,A sound)
Precision object placement mode
Ai-controlled Tanks or something

no u
Virtual Nomad
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 18th Dec 2011 04:11 Edited at: 18th Dec 2011 04:12
works fine here. one interesting note: when shooting spheres toward the top of the big orange box, the sphere sometimes passes through the edge. i have minimal experience with physx so dunno if this is normal.

otherwise, add some sound?

oh, and:



Virtual Nomad @ California, USA . DBPro V7.5
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 18th Dec 2011 04:45
Nice... looks like someone beat me to it yet again lol

yeah a more solid placement will be better you could even use drop box... if you dont want to pin it up on the forums
I would advise so as it reduces the space TGC needs to pay for (well from what I read not long ago)

but I love the colour system... can I ask how you developed your colour scheme?

Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 18th Dec 2011 05:15 Edited at: 6th Feb 2012 02:52
Hide the ip. Didn't think it was a big deal but yeah good idea. I'm using my ueuo site to host it at least for the time being. I didn't post it here because I wanted to try adfly, and maybe make a few dollars.

@Virtual Nomad That can't really be my fault... it's physx. Like if you make a 50x0.1x50 part and put small items on it, sometimes the small items fall through if the flat thing is agitated. EDIT: Actually, it's because dark physics doesen't have ccd. I'll probably switch to dynamix sometime to fix this.

@MrValentine The original idea was a sort of "limbo", where everything was white and you add colorful stuff to play with. I made it a bit more gray to be easier on the eyes.

no u
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 20th Dec 2011 11:19
Are you using Dark Physics or Dark Dynamix? Looks very interesting.

I did a sandbox-ish game a while ago in DP. If you want any code you can have it as I doubt I'll be reviving it.



Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 22nd Dec 2011 03:48
Dark Physics. Does your game allow you to place blocks on the sides of blocks or angled surfaces? In the next update since I'm adding different type of objects, I need some new code for the placement of blocks. Here's the thread about it:http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=192608&b=1

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 22nd Dec 2011 09:50
I used sparky's collision in combination with DP. Using sparky's raycasts saved my bacon on that project. You can use it as you described in that thread definitely.

My guess is you'd have to use two raycasts, one in each direction directly straight down and check the reflected normals against each other.

Quote: "Does your game allow you to place blocks on the sides of blocks or angled surfaces?"

My blocks were always placed on a flat surface I think. I could roll them but the positioning was relatively simple and based on the size of the block. As you can see from the video they were inserted as none physics objects and then made into physics objects once the position was chosen by the user.

Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 05:59
The normal finding commands in the sparky's collision thing don't seem to work. But, after hours of confusion, I came up with some stuff that works pretty well... however it removes like 10fps of performance because it's very inefficient... But it works!

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 3rd Jan 2012 10:18
Sparky's is actually super fast. Any chance you are doing something unnecessary? Like checking every object every loop?

I never had any speed issues caused by sparky's and it's notoriously quick...

Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 11th Jan 2012 06:23
No, my solution doesen't use sparkys, it uses my "pathetic" idea of 3d... Angle... Rotation... Math.

Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 05:19
This may seem strange to ask, but how did you get the shadows so dark? I am using this:

set shadow shading on Object,Meshversionoftheobject,1000,1

where the last argument refers to the shadow shading shader in the effects folder in the compiler. What are you using?

no u
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Feb 2012 08:06
@Inflictive Studios

your download link dose not work

if your file is not larger than 50 mb you can post it on this site

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 02:50
@Resourceful Fixed, apparently the free hosting service I'm using removed some of my files lol.


I'm almost done with 1.2, probably upload within a week.

no u
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 03:46
thanks


I've got a new problem

i go to run it from the zip file and I get taken to the nvida site
saying my drivers are not up to date
but when I do the check it is

I know I had this problem on a lesser computer but i should not be having it on this

and yours is not the first one I've had 2 others do the same drivers are not
up to date

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 03:48
Its asking for physx drivers... scroll down and click physx...

gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 04:01
I should have every thing

you would think with a 1 gb video card all drivers would be in place

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 04:05
Long story short... install it again...

gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 04:23
rats

it looks like when I did a hard re boot some thing got damaged/removed
Dark Physics dose not work as I got the same dumb message about updating my drivers

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 8th Feb 2012 02:51
You need PhysX drivers! ya rly. On the page it takes you to, scroll down and click "PhysX system software". This is for the phisics, not the actual 3d stuff.

no u
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 15th Feb 2012 14:15
Quote: "This may seem strange to ask, but how did you get the shadows so dark? I am using this:

set shadow shading on Object,Meshversionoftheobject,1000,1

where the last argument refers to the shadow shading shader in the effects folder in the compiler. What are you using?"

Sorry, missed your post.

Here is the code I used:
SET GLOBAL SHADOW COLOR 0, 0, 0, alpha(0-255)

gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 15th Feb 2012 15:00
@Inflictive Studios

I physics working , I know the mistake I made
and now things are back to ware they should be

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 15th Feb 2012 15:10
@Inflictive Studios

I'm guess your Display resolution is more than 1024 x 768 ?

the text go's off the screen to the right

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 20th Feb 2012 02:42
lol yeah, 1280x800. 1.2 will be very different though

no u
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 20th Feb 2012 02:52
@Inflictive Studios

how do you figure until the next release ?

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 24th Feb 2012 01:40
It's out now.

no u
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 24th Feb 2012 02:20
@Inflictive Studios

it works ;o)

now I just have to memorize all the keys to make it work


to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 27th Feb 2012 03:11
lol not in 1.2

no u
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 24th Mar 2012 04:27
Replying so it doesen't auto lock the thread after 30 days.

"This plan is so perfect... it's retarded."
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 9th May 2012 08:51 Edited at: 10th May 2012 13:23
@Inflictive Studios

I take it things are progressing ?

how many items can be put in ?

I know with "Dark Occlusion" to help with temporarily removing items
that will speed things up

and using "Dark Imposters" up to 1,000,000 objects are possible
but about 50,000 works the best

but I am using both on a maxed out laptop
quad core - 2 ghz cpu with 4 more cpu's emulated
8 gb of ram
2 gb video card - now set up as duel running display
which I also watch cable tv with thanks to a usb device

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 19th May 2012 04:55 Edited at: 19th May 2012 04:56
Yeah. Sorry I haven't really updated this thread, I have been focusing more on the IndieDB one. I just switched to dark dynamix for CCD and vehicles, as the next update will be vehicles, joints, and special objects. Not going to do multiplayer in 1.3, singleplayer addons are way easier and funner.

I have imposters and I might eventually add it, but it's not important right now to me.

"This plan is so perfect... it's retarded."
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 19th May 2012 05:43
@Inflictive Studios

thats ok

I've got both Physic's engine's

yes I can understand the complexity's of building in multiplayer
I know one network addon I found permited up to
3,500 to a max of 7,000 people and I can see how much of pain that
would be for a system to handle

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Inflictive
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2009
Location: Altis
Posted: 19th May 2012 10:03
Yeah, the other problem is a physigons server would use lots more data then say a minecraft server, because of the constant updates being sent to the clients.

"This plan is so perfect... it's retarded."

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-14 14:55:08
Your offset time is: 2019-10-14 14:55:08