Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Android / Compiling?

Author
Message
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 18th Dec 2011 22:24
Hi, does anyone have a guide for compiling an android app. The only one I have seen is the AppGameKit documentation but. I think that I will need a "clearer" than it. I tried to follow it but I failed imediently when trying to download eclipse. At the download page there are 10 over diffirent choises but I have no idea of wich one to chose. So, does anyone have a better guide?
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 20th Dec 2011 17:13 Edited at: 20th Dec 2011 17:14
After reading the guide further and looking at some other threads about compiling for android I noticed that all the files you need to download are defined in the text further down (Facepalm)

I think I have managed to do evrything correctly until

Quote: "To compile the tier 1 interpreter app open cygwin and browse to the android interpreter directory (cygwin is case sensitive and does not allow spaces in your project path), for example in my enironment that would be 'cd "/cygdrive/c/android/AGK/IDE/apps/interpreter_android" then try to compile the interpreter with the path to the NDK installation e.g. "/cygdrive/c/android/android-ndk-r6b/ndk-build 2> log.txt" errors will be put in log.txt in the interpreter_android folder. This compiles all the C++ code into the native library that will be the main part of the Android application."


The last line I wrote in the Cygwin window was "/cygdrive/c/android/android-ndk-r6b/ndk-build 2> log.txt"
But evry time I do that I get this error in the log file


Does anyone know what the problem is, allso it would be nice if TGC (Or someone else for that matter) would make a video with more precise instructions on how to compile a game for android. There seems to be a LOT of people having problems with it right now...
Impetus73
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 25th Dec 2011 15:04
You have r7 installed, not r6b

try change the cygwin line to:

"/cygdrive/c/android/android-ndk-r7/ndk-build > log.txt"

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 26th Dec 2011 15:57
Quote: "You have r7 installed, not r6b

try change the cygwin line to:

"/cygdrive/c/android/android-ndk-r7/ndk-build > log.txt"
"


Allready did that...
westalke
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 28th Dec 2011 01:37
Would really recommend you download and use r6b - we had all sorts of issues trying to get r7 to function correctly.

Westa
paul5147
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2006
Location: Hot & Sunny
Posted: 28th Dec 2011 09:09
I Haven't had any problems using r7b,i just did as was sugested in another thread and deleted awk.exe from the "\android-ndk-r7b\prebuilt\windows\bin\" folder and everything worked just fine.
That was the only problem i had during the whole setup process,an out of date awk file requiring me to set host_awk to gawk or nawk.
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 14:21
Quote: "I Haven't had any problems using r7b,i just did as was sugested in another thread and deleted awk.exe from the "\android-ndk-r7b\prebuilt\windows\bin\" folder and everything worked just fine.
That was the only problem i had during the whole setup process,an out of date awk file requiring me to set host_awk to gawk or nawk."


Thanks for the advice! It works now... Though my luck did not last 2 more steps in the guide and I encounterd a new problem.

When I try to inport the AppGameKit player project I get a error AppGameKit player allready exists (See atatched file)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 3rd Jan 2012 12:12
YEEAY more progress!

I think I managed to compile the interpreter now I got the AGKplayer.apk file in my Interpreter_Android/Bin foler. But there are some more steps in the guide that im not sure if they are necessairy.

Quote: "If your device is connected, in USB debugging mode, and has the USB debug driver for Windows installed the app should appear on your device.
To set your Android device to debug mode, go to Settings, Applications, Development then tick USB debugging.
The apk will have been created in the interpreter_android/bin folder called AGKPlayer.apk.
It may then ask whether you want to add a new Android Virtual Device, select Yes
Cancel the Android Device chooser unless you already have an AVD set-up to select, and you see see a dilog with New button
Select New, type 'AndroidDevice' in the top field then select Android 2.3.1 from the Target drop-down, then click Create AVD
Repeat the step to select Run As->Android Application and this time he AVD will be detected and the Android Simulator will run
It will take a time for the Android Simulator to boot up, and then launch the app
Currently the Android application does not render within the Simulator, but works fine on the USB connected device
To run the app on the actual device, select Run As > Run Configurations and select Manual. When you click RUN, the debugging mode Android device will appear. Select it and click OK.
The application APK is transmitted and run on your Android device."


Are they necessairy or can I just go ahead to the next part of the guide? Like I said, I allready got the AGKplayer.apk
World Class Multimedia
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Aug 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posted: 4th Jan 2012 03:04
Wow. I just read through the steps to compile to Android.

I was hoping for a more one button solution here. Sheesus. I might as well become a linux expert.

Seriously, I hope I can do this. It seems so over complicated.

Mike

YOU DREAM IT - WE CREATE IT!
www.world-class-multimedia.com
For world-class virtual instruments - www.supersynths.com
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 4th Jan 2012 10:53 Edited at: 4th Jan 2012 13:07
Yes it realy is complicated...

EDIT

More progress!

I got my compiled player to actualy run on the device. Though Im having problems with the next step. It says I shuld put my media in the "assets" folder but I can't find the folder. I did a search for it om my comp and the only thing that came up was an assets folder in cryengine3
nja
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2012 17:01
you need to create a folder in the Eclipse project called assets and put all your media in it.

This process isn't too bad...would've been nice to have a video or something when I was doing it, however, once you have a working copy, for all other games you can just copy your eclipse project.
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 4th Jan 2012 17:57 Edited at: 4th Jan 2012 18:09
Quote: "you need to create a folder in the Eclipse project called assets and put all your media in it."


Seriously, it's that easy?

Edit
I guess not

Im stuck again

The guide says this

Quote: "Now select File > Open File and navigate to the file interpreter.cpp in AGK\IDE\apps\interpreter and open it
Modify the line after #ifdef IDE_ANDROID, around line 225
You can do this commenting in the following line:
strcpy ( g_pInterpreterByteCodeFile, "bytecode.byc" );"


Does that mean that I shuld remove the // in the line // strcpy ( g_pInterpreterByteCodeFile, "bytecode.byc" ); // comment in for T1 BASIC APP

To me it sounds like I shuld do the oposite but this seems the most likley thing to do
paul5147
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2006
Location: Hot & Sunny
Posted: 4th Jan 2012 19:05
Yes remove the comments // is what it means,dont forget to change the name of your projects bytecode file that was created by compiling as usual through the AppGameKit IDE and stored in your media folder to "bytecode.byc" as well or change the name in strcpy ( g_pInterpreterByteCodeFile, "bytecode.byc" ); to match your projects bytecode file name and remember this is case sensitive as well i think.
Not much further to go after this so good look.
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 4th Jan 2012 19:23
Yeeeees!

I finaly managed to compile my project
Thank you so much for help
paul5147
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2006
Location: Hot & Sunny
Posted: 5th Jan 2012 18:23
Congratulations Zoq2,great to here you stuck with it.
LeGugusse
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2007
Location: Paris - France
Posted: 6th Jan 2012 13:13
Congratulations!
I'm very close too but the final APK display the listening screen like if my bytecode was not used...

Someone see my problem?

Cry "Havoc!" and let slip the dogs of war
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 6th Jan 2012 13:34
Did you rename the bytecode to bytecode.byc (no capital letters) and removed the comments in the. Xml file and then compiled?
LeGugusse
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2007
Location: Paris - France
Posted: 6th Jan 2012 13:45
YEEEEEEAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!

I succeeded!!!

It was not written in the guide that, after compilation of the interpreter.cpp , and the creation of my 'foo' project, I had to open it as a new project in Eclipse and compile it!!!!

But I suspected It was a logic thing to do!

Oh my god! That's so good to see my app playing on my Samsung Galaxy Screen!

Cry "Havoc!" and let slip the dogs of war
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 6th Jan 2012 23:41
Quote: " Oh my god! That's so good to see my app playing on my Samsung Galaxy Screen!"


I had the same feeling a few days back. I guess it's the advantage of having a long and painfull compiling process You get realy happy when you succeed
Trisect Development
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 20th Jan 2012 22:44 Edited at: 20th Jan 2012 23:11
#The Zoq2

What did you change besides the manifest file and the project file.
I tried to compile my game but cannot seem to succeed.

I get this error:

Quote: "The application Memory Wars (process dk.trisect.MemoryWars) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again."


iOS Apps from Trisect Development.
Click here.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 20th Jan 2012 23:22 Edited at: 21st Jan 2012 00:18
I already made a vedio tutorial of this on my bloggie. It is a 10 minute video and being uploaded know. I might make another one where i talk but i hate my voice. actuslly i just remade in in 4 segments i am going to have to edit the film first.

Go through yourself at a wall.
Trisect Development
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 20th Jan 2012 23:34
So where can I find your blog?

iOS Apps from Trisect Development.
Click here.
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 00:16
It would really be usefull for the whole community if you post a link here...
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 01:13
I have slow internet the first blog is being uploaded I explained thing kind of it is really hard to think and to make a blog. The first part is 75 percent done right know loading to utube.

Go through yourself at a wall.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 01:41 Edited at: 21st Jan 2012 18:50
part one
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMaULbe6_co&feature=g-upl&context=G2726996AUAAAAAAAAAA

oh wait i made the tutorial for tier two oh well.

some of this can be used for tier 1

Go through yourself at a wall.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 02:55 Edited at: 21st Jan 2012 18:51
this one is not too informative but it is part 2
made alot of mistakes making this part

http:///www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWbfRzbx2lA&feature=g-upl&context=G2726996AUAAAAAAAAAA

only watch the firts 30 sec of this video.
tier one and teir two can use this.

Go through yourself at a wall.
Trisect Development
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 09:03
Nice job.

But I'm really looking for a Tier 1 tutorial.
I stuck with the foo part (my own game)

iOS Apps from Trisect Development.
Click here.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 16:05 Edited at: 21st Jan 2012 18:54
http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4bdnOZSPjc&feature=g-upl&context=G22710c5AUAAAAAAAAAA
here is another part of tutorial
I think the one obove this line is the cygwin and how to install so you can use it for tier 1 also.

http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8aJwR_X8Z2Q&feature=g-upl&context=G2159076AUAAAAAAABAA
this video contains the compilation of the product in eclipse tier two.

Go through yourself at a wall.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 17:00 Edited at: 21st Jan 2012 18:49
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgkH3NhMFu0&feature=g-upl&context=G21f8a2eAUAAAAAAAAAA

Setting up your phone
tier one and tier two

Go through yourself at a wall.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 18:31 Edited at: 21st Jan 2012 18:55
part five navigating through eclipse
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmwTERubqQM&feature=g-upl&context=G21f8a2eAUAAAAAAAAAA
this video above is for tier 2 users.

that should be it.
to donate goto
http://www.threedstud.com

Go through yourself at a wall.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 21st Jan 2012 20:56
Actually I looked at both the guides and they look simular looks like you have to use eclipse in tier one also so this guide should help you.

Go through yourself at a wall.
The Zoq2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 22nd Jan 2012 20:32
I actually allready fixed the problem, I just thought that you could post here so others can see
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Feb 2012 03:59 Edited at: 1st Feb 2012 04:01
Changing the name of the app from template

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMXewU2ZUlA&feature=g-upl&context=G2acbbd9AUAAAAAAAAAA

This takes you though on how to change your apps name.

Go through yourself at a wall.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Feb 2012 04:05 Edited at: 1st Feb 2012 04:06
this is a picture of where to include the media.



Go through yourself at a wall.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Feb 2012 07:43 Edited at: 1st Feb 2012 07:44
Once you are ready for release of your app go to eclipse and file-> export your project with the app wizard, and the wizard should spit out a file that you can upload too google. I will not show this process in you tube since the information is sensitive in nature.

Go through yourself at a wall.
Nicholas Smotherman
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2012
Location: Ahmedabad
Posted: 1st Feb 2012 13:34
Thanks a lot i got successes for finalizing my apk

android application development

android application development | android game development
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Feb 2012 15:50
well my last post about changing the name I cut the forgot this

change this in the android manifest file it has it kind of in the video but I guess I forgot it.

android:value="pianobasic" />

Go through yourself at a wall.
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 2nd Feb 2012 01:42 Edited at: 2nd Feb 2012 01:43
oh i forgot this too you need to change the strings file.


Go through yourself at a wall.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3d point in space
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 6th Feb 2012 22:40 Edited at: 6th Feb 2012 22:43
if you have a kindle fire follow this guide to set up drivers

http://www.pcworld.com/article/244303/how_to_root_your_kindle_fire.html

kindle fire is know on sell at wall mart for 150 dollars only this week.

Developer of Space Chips, pianobasic, and zipzapzoom apps.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-04-21 10:05:43
Your offset time is: 2019-04-21 10:05:43