Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / new pc for x10

Author
Message
firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 26th Dec 2011 21:32 Edited at: 27th Dec 2011 16:51
Just built myself a sweet pc for fpscx10..
Custom case..windows 7 premium 64bit..quad core i5 3ghz..8gb ddr3 gaming ram..1tb hard drive..geforce 550ti 1gb ddr5 graphics card..500w power supply...
so hopefully should get good fps with x10..basicly i got a mid priced desktop with a good processor and crap everything else, then brought the ram,graphics card on top so worked out alot cheaper than a same spec pc with everything already installed...
Norion
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 27th Dec 2011 00:12
OK... I'm glad for you that you have bought a new PC but whats the point of this thread ?

mnemonic
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2007
Location: Sweden
Posted: 27th Dec 2011 00:20
Brag?
firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 27th Dec 2011 16:35 Edited at: 27th Dec 2011 16:51
would my computer run fpsc x10 well or not and what sort of frame rate would i get?.....im not braging some people have there specs on there sig....it was late last night when i posted this and just forgot to add the question about frame rate....
science boy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Dec 2011 20:37
leave the kid alone, he is excited and asking what you think, dont be negative, be happy for him

good for you firelord, may the x10 and pc serve you well. and it should floor x10 on fps.

an unquenchable thirst for knowledge of game creation!!!
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 28th Dec 2011 22:41
500W... (facepalm)

Norion
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 01:01
Quote: "500W... (facepalm)"


Why ???

MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 01:05
Although not all the components are hungry for power and I believe the 500 series of NVidia chips are designed to use less power... you should still consider a 650W for good measure... specially if you plan on a second GPU if ever... and specially if adding more hard drives...

Long story short its just for good measure. also get modular to reduce not needed cables

firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 16:23 Edited at: 29th Dec 2011 20:32
ok.. i will not be upgrading anything else as its a micro axt case and mother board....only one pci express slot and the hard drive is all i need...so the sales man said its not just the watts of a power supply but the constant currant thats more important my supply is antec and there really good..he said a really good like a antec 450w supply would work just as well as my 500w....the graphics card minium spec is 400w..and i wont be overclocking either..the graphics card im have said minimium 400w..but i was reading a not good supply with 650w would be worse than having a really good quality 450w supply..
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 20:55
Quote: "so the sales man said its not just the watts of a power supply but the constant currant thats more important "


Partially true, but never listen to the SALESMAN he is not a FULL TIME PRO he just goes to the pub in the evening... however there is a rare few tech guys working in retail environments... IE... dunno where you are from but theres a handful of basic places in the UK you can buy computer parts namely a PSU... PC World, Maplin and some bits and bobs from Comet... but I can not remember if they ever sold components... eitherway I got a hilarious joke about them... I was in a Comet not too long ago and for a laugh asked the staff about printers... well he came t me and asked if I was OK... ahahah so I quizzed him over the printers and he just read off the plates... argh... anyhoo as if I can readthat tiny writing] and then while knowingly standing in front of the hard drive section... with my back to it and asking... so do you have any hard drives in stock? his response I am not sure but I hink we do not stock those...

I still crack off to that even now...

anyway

Where was I... [scrolls up to read] argh just cut it short... its best to have a nice juicy modlar 650W these days hope the funny story made you chuckle as it is true... god they should give me some commission I have sold loads for them... ts fun for my practice though... oh yeah those places are just useless to buy parts from... 8/10 times the staff are clueless... does my head in... I however buy from a renowned supplier now.

firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 21:49
im from uk and have had many encounters with pc world myself...but going to change it as i only brought couple of days ago you reckon 650w would be a better buy then...
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 29th Dec 2011 22:31
consider this... you get a more power hungry GPU... then what?

I call it being ready... A PSU is one of the most pricey parts and you should NEVER buy a cheap one...

and also buy a surge protector... if you do not already have one...

firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 30th Dec 2011 14:54
thanks for the advice i brought an antec gaming 620w power supply..
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 30th Dec 2011 14:55 Edited at: 30th Dec 2011 14:56
nice... how about a surge protector? although that PSU should be good enough and have some redundancies for such issues...

good juice is achieved by use of good components ^^

EDIT

PSu > PSU

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-05-20 05:39:56
Your offset time is: 2019-05-20 05:39:56