Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / [NaGaCreMo 2012] Abeyance

Author
Message
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 20th Aug 2012 16:45
Quote: "You're talking to a guy who codes on a laptop."


it is likely I will be joining you on that one soon... but I will upgrade to an SSD just like my desktop for sure!

I plan to move abroad for a while soon...

get working on this game!!! no more procrastinating for today!

Seppuku Arts
Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 20th Aug 2012 19:36 Edited at: 20th Aug 2012 19:36
I plan on getting a desktop eventually, just because I need more power. I think I'm doing pretty well for a laptop with an Intel GMA stuck in it.

Anyway, as I've been explain game design, I thought I'd go through the 'Rooms' system. Here is a diagram of how they work.

http://i1220.photobucket.com/albums/dd451/BrynP/rooms.jpg

Essentially the player object will store 3 lots of variables: oldRoom (the last room it visited), currentRoom (the room he's in now) and position (useful when zoning out to battle). Each room has a series of spawn points, each for entering an exiting. Keats will spawn at the spawn point that matches 'oldRoom'. When a battle starts, oldRoom will be 'null' as Keats won't appear at any spawn point, instead his position is stored and the room he's in. When keats returns from battle his position will be restored in the room. Each spawn point is defined by an array, so it makes it easier to parse through and check spawn points.

A bit that the diagram doesn't show is that each room will have data recorded for it - so items and their positions, enemies, NPCs and so on. These will be inside of a 'Rooms' class. So when an item is removed or an enemy killed in a specific room, this class will know about it and make sure they're not reloaded (could be done with a UDT for DBPers, like I did with the original demo).

Seppuku Arts
Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 22nd Aug 2012 16:22
Implemented the better version of scene transitions.

Left to do (coding wise):
Save/load
Options menu
Enemy & Player death
Scenarios
Scene updates
A complete version of the inventory menu
Polishing

TheComet
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 6th Sep 2012 15:06
Quote: "You're talking to a guy who codes on a laptop."


Quote: "I plan on getting a desktop eventually, just because I need more power."


I also program on a laptop. I think it's better to develop games on a low end computer (such as a laptop) because then you can be sure that your game will run well on all other machines.

Your project is coming a long nicely, I found the fight was amusing to watch. Reminds me of the days I used to play "Adventure Quest" :3

TheComet

"if you don't understand recursion than you probably don't understand recursion." ~Jerico2day
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 6th Sep 2012 22:08 Edited at: 6th Sep 2012 22:10
Cheers.

I remember Adventure Quest, I used to think it was too over the top, but it is kind of a similar battle system. And yes, you make a fair point, low spec laptop means you can make sure it's gonna work.

I need to work on this more, but I did have time to get a 'save/load' system done and it works. I wouldn't say it's that difficult, I just had to decide how I'm going to save all the data so every room that has an item in it can check whether or not the player has picked it up and various other bits and pieces. Unity3D makes saving quite easy, it has a 'PlayerPrefs' class, which is actually kind of like using DBP's file commands. Some differences, but more or less the same principle.

Cian Rice/Animeblood was kind enough to redesign the logo for me (he did the original back when I first came up with the project), but the style he went for (and it was what I wanted) didn't suit the title screen sequence, so I've redesigned the background (and have changed the music to accommodate). I am tempted to script in a lightning effect, but I'll see. I wanted a better shadow quality, but it actualy the highest quality Cartography Shop would do.



TheComet
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 6th Sep 2012 23:18
Ooh, nice! Make sure to update your sig with that.

TheComet

"if you don't understand recursion than you probably don't understand recursion." ~Jerico2day
New World Order
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2012 11:09
seems like I haven't posted here before... let me just say this looks fantastic!

About the main-menu background: you could also model (or import if that works) tha scene in a modelling program and bake the shadows in there. Not sure which program you use, but eg. Blender has awesome shadow-baking functions (including ambient occlusion and high quality raytracing)
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 7th Sep 2012 11:29 Edited at: 7th Sep 2012 12:10
Cheers for the comments.

I've got Gile[s], which does the same (and has ambient occlusion, but I don't want to use AO for that particular scene), I'll see if I can improve the quality there. As for Blender, sadly it's a program I've tried many times over the last few years but can't yet seem to get along with.

[edit]
Quote: "Make sure to update your sig with that"

Aaaand done.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-18 19:15:52
Your offset time is: 2024-04-18 19:15:52