Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Pong counter (complete noob)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, I created my pong game and I'd like some help with something.. I have a thought of how to create the counter for the game but I get stuck on this problem that I don't know how to cout an integer! in c++ u could just do "cout<<"here's the int "<<int<<endl;" but in DarkGDK the only command I've found out about to output text is dbText();.
While I'm still making a thread I might just as well ask how I'd go about making a menu for the game and a simple AI.
Regards
(I'm sorry for the load of noob question).
vitinho444
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Jan 2012 22:35 Edited at: 16th Jan 2012 22:45
well i dont know the int name so i will call it counter.

Just use:

If you haven't a count system is easy:

When you check for collision with one of the paddles, just increment the value:

If this is not what you are looking for, please explain better

@EDIT
Oh sorry i didnt read the whole thing :S

So for the menu, it's called game states.

Hassan teached me this thing, its quite simple.. but not sure if will say it right, im kinda sleepy.. Please guys if i mistake something please correct.

@EDIT 2:
Ok i edited this 5 times, i dont want to mess up your head
I think its easily explained... Good luck

So basicly make a ENUM with the Gamestates

enum ENUM_NAME { Paused, MainMenu, Game };

Then in the loop just use the

Real sorry dude i dont know to explain it :S, I dont know if you can understand.. probably not because im not a good teacher..

For the AI... i dont know what you are mentioning with AI for pong.. are you looking for the CPU paddle movement?