Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / First Dark GDK Game

Author
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jan 2012 05:47
This is my first game in Dark GDK. I've been glancing at Dark GDK since it's release a few years ago, but never got far into learning the library. I started off by porting a game from The Game Maker's Apprentice: Evil Clutches. This is what I've got so far, in two days:

- Player
- Movement from input
- Boundary check
- Boss
- Movement
- Boundary reversal
- Demon
- Max on screen: 3
- Spawning from Boss position
- Start with one of three movement presets
- Boundary checks
- Properly sets demons to "dead" if past player
- Properly handles "alive" or "dead" for each demon

Code State:

There is little "organization" and not much object oriented programming etiquette. I tried to begin with clean code, but decided to get as much done as possible. Most code is in Main and most of the header and source files are not used yet. Only the Math header has some thorough use.

It's getting late here in the States and I'm going to bed. Tomorrow I want to add player, demon, and fireball collisions. Also, I'll add the baby dragon element which gives the player extra score when captured, removes score if shot, and maybe lose score with demon collision. Not sure on the last part.

I want to finish porting as many of the games The Game Maker's Apprentice before I purchase a new laptop. I'll be moving to the App Game Kit library full time to avoid any clashes in Visual Studio.