Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Box 2D World Builder

Author
Message
Ratty Rat
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 27th Jan 2012 15:53
Attached is Box 2D World Builder (B2DWB), which came about, initially, as a quick and dirty editor for a 2D Physics Game I was working on and then grew and grew to become this.

This is a working beta v0.8, I want to see how much people actually use it before I spend too much more time adding bits to it (it does everything I need for now).

Features:
wysiwyg Style interface.
Mix Box 2D objects and Dark Basic Professional sprites.
Dynamic and Static Box 2D objects supported.
4 Types of joints (currently) supported.
Create regular polygons (3 to 8 sides).
Edit Polygon vertices to create complex shapes.
Instantly add dynamic chains.
Automatically join objects to other objects while drawing them.
Easily Add static edges by drawing freehand with the mouse.
Test your worlds instantly from within the editor.
Includes Dark Basic Professional Source Code to load and run projects.


For extra info install the app and look at the html pages in Tutorial/ folder in the installed location.



Enjoy!

RR. (Ratsoft AKA G.F.McArdell)

"Don`t try to engage my enthusiasm, I don`t have one"

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Stormwire
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Mar 2012 00:55
Realy well done. Nice work
Ratty Rat
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 12th Mar 2012 10:11
Wow, thanks Stormwire, I was beginning to think no-one was interested.

I am still developing this, although in parallel with some other projects (games made with B2DWB`s help), as soon as there is an update I will post it here.

Let me know if there is anything in particular you would want to see and I`ll prioritise it.

RR

"Don`t try to engage my enthusiasm, I don`t have one"
swissolo
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Mar 2012 17:43
Wow, that's pretty deep! This is a really good idea, but it might be even better to allow exporting to AppGameKit formatted code. AppGameKit comes with box2D and I think better fits this kind of setup.

swis - No, it's not pokemon.
Joined: Tues Dec 16th 2008
93% of human interaction is non-verbal.
Ratty Rat
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 14th Mar 2012 10:31
Couldn`t agree more Swissolo, that is exactly where I would like to take it.

Not that I have the time to do that sadly. I work full time coding and, frankly, it is pretty difficult to make myself do more coding after I finish work.

I have not even looked at AppGameKit yet, I will probably get it to export Darkbasic code first, then move on to AGK.

"Don`t try to engage my enthusiasm, I don`t have one"
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 15th Mar 2012 14:39
There are a few noticeable differences between the DBPro wrapper and AppGameKit for box2d. It might be possible but I have tried exporting games from the DBPro version to AppGameKit and only simple ones with one "world" will work.

There are other differences too but it's not as simple as it sounds I'm afraid...

Nice work with this though! I'm making a sandbox in AppGameKit but it is a little different.

Cor
AGK Developer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2010
Location: Its a trap!
Posted: 15th Mar 2012 20:58
Looks very nice! This would be a valuable tool
tokyomage
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2010
Location: on your roof
Posted: 15th Mar 2012 23:33
Looks pretty cool, downloading now

-Tokyomage

.....the feel of solitude hurts inside....
Ratty Rat
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 16th Mar 2012 10:28
baxslash - thanks for the heads up. A sandbox was what I started with, but it quickly became evident that I wanted more control - also there were a few parameters, joint angles etc, that I found Box 2D seemed to be missing 'Get' commands for so it was impossible to have the simulation run and then be able to save it at any point. This is why B2DWB has a separate Run command which always returns to the pre-run state afterwards.

Cor/Tokyomage - thanks, let me know how you get on, particularly with the code sample, which I feel might need more documentation.

"Don`t try to engage my enthusiasm, I don`t have one"

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-27 01:27:58
Your offset time is: 2019-06-27 01:27:58