Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / How to make a ragdoll?

Author
Message
Hawkblood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 18th Mar 2012 16:02
I am trying to rotate limbs on a boned object. I can't seem to make it work AT ALL. I even tried coloring the limbs-- nothing! Are the limb functions broken or do I need some other commands for bones?

The fastest code is the code never written.
Matty H
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 18th Mar 2012 17:09
I have been looking at exactly this problem recently.

I have not solved it yet but it can be done as Lee has emailed me some code showing how they do it with ODE. Even the TGC guys struggled getting it to work with bone animation.

We can work on this together if you like as I will be adding it to Dark Dynamix in the next few weeks.

Are you using a Physics/Collision lib? If so which one? It will not matter if we are using different solutions as the DarkGDK side of things will involve the same process for both of us.

I will post what I have so far if you like? I probaly won't be able to look at this properly for at least 4 weeks as I am going on holiday on Saturday.

It will not be easy but I am confident I/We will get it working.

Hawkblood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 18th Mar 2012 19:51
I'm not using any physics/collision libs yet. I can't even get dbRotateLimb to do anything. Without something as simple as that, using physics/collision is out of the question. This is frustrating! I wonder if PureGDK has this problem.... I have been considering making the move, but I don't want to trade one broken thing for another.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Benjames8
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2010
Location: Your Nightmares
Posted: 18th Mar 2012 20:10
I can rotate limbs dude..

Are you importing the limbs or creating them manually?
maybe you check your export options in whatever program your using. Like for 3dsMax you have to specify to export limbs

Post what your doing and I will try to help, idk if I can or not but its prolly worth a shot.
Just don't switch all your code when it really isn't broken.
Matty H
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 18th Mar 2012 21:46 Edited at: 18th Mar 2012 21:46
I don't think its possible using dbRotateLimb() commands, there is a loose connection between bones and limbs, I'm not an expert on it but I have ragdolls working for limbs but it does not work the same for bones.

I'm pretty sure you will need to go under the hood, you can get a bones matrix like this:


I can post more if you like, although I have not got the updating part right yet.

WickedX
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2009
Location: A Mile High
Posted: 18th Mar 2012 22:46
I may be missing the point of what you are trying to do here. But dbRotateLimb () seems to work fine on my boned object. I made this simple object and boned it in fragmotion. Then exported as an X file and used DBPro to convert in to a DBO.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Hawkblood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 19th Mar 2012 03:18
The .x file I am using has animation so I know its bones are working properly. When I do dbPerformCheckListForObjectLimbs(..) I get 54 items in the list. I have 36 bones and a few IK chanins. It seems to add up, but When I try to do anything to any limb object in the list nothing happens. Perhapse I'm missing something, but I think I'll try Matty H's method and check back. Not tonight though, sometime tomorrow. Thanks for the help.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Hawkblood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 21st Mar 2012 02:48
@Matty H
That worked. I remember using the matrix functions from when I was using exclusively DX (nightmare days). I guess I'll have to write a function to wrap this in. Thanks.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Fallout
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location: Basingstoke, England
Posted: 25th Mar 2012 23:51 Edited at: 25th Mar 2012 23:51
I'm glad you guys are working on this. Rag dolls in Dark Dynamix is essential to my project. When I get to the rag dolls stage, and if you guys are still working on this, I'll be glad to help out if I can.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-02-20 07:54:44
Your offset time is: 2020-02-20 07:54:44