Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all,
I'm a novice at this.
I'm looking to take input from a user

split the string into seperate words (using token$ with " " as the delimiter?)

store them in an array (no idea how to do this)
and compare them to several lists of words, doing other stuff if a match is found.

I've been searching the forum for hours and I just can't seem to make anything work how I expect it to.

Could someone explain how i could do this please?

Many thanks,

Paul.
BN2 Productions
Years of Service
User Offline
Well, here's a stab at it. Sorry, I don't have time to type up a full example, but this should get you started.

First off, we have the string answer$ that needs to be broken into separate words. For this I would suggest scanning through it with a repeat/until loop character by character until you reach the end, like so:

What this will do is go through it until it finds the " " character, then store that character's location into an array named Breaks(). You can then use the Left$() and Right$() functions to grab the string of characters between the breaks.

That kind of spilled into your next question: Arrays.
To declare an array, you use the DIM command. You can dimension them up to, I think, 255 levels. In this case, you will probably want a string array, so you would use:

DIM CommandArguments$(10)

Note that this assumes that there is a max of 10 different arguments that the user can enter (all would be separated with a " "). Tying into the previous example: