Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Getting Used to a Pen Tablet

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th May 2012 09:32
I could have sworn there was an artist forum here years ago. However, this seems the most appropriate place to ask my question....

I just bought a Wacom tablet and find it a horrid input device. How do you get used to using the thing? I'm assuming it's just using it repetitively. My attempts at drawing something are worse than trying with the mouse. My attempts at just trying to block a shape are proving kindergarten level.

*considers returning to paper and oil pastels then the scanner*

Any good pointers or techniques to improve? I'm not an artist but am wanting to learn to do some stuff for my project.

Thanks!

In Development: K96 - Combat Simulation
Keep your Hope and Change, I choose individual Liberty!
zeroSlave
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th May 2012 10:08
Unfortunately, it's just something you've gotta get used to. I still prefer drawing with pencil, but for texturing and other work in photoshop, I prefer my tablet over a mouse.

Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.
Nateholio
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th May 2012 11:59
Not entirely unfortunate. Good things don't come without effort. I guess I'll have to resolve that my work will look like Picasso until I get the hang of the tablet.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 12th May 2012 15:55
I got a fun pen and touch a few weeks ago too... just no time to practice yet and its a bit odd not looking at your hand while moving it around...