Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / [darkGDK 2.0] cofiguation error in sample setup program

Author
Message
JohnA
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2011
Location: The second star on the right
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 05:16
Hi,
I first made the gdkengine.dll file with my plugins from the dark studio bonanza except darkphysic, i used darkdynamics instead.
so i proceeded to follow all the creating a project steps for vs2010.
i did it all by the letter, however i get these errors when compiled.


anyone know what i did wrong? this is a win32 error i beleive so i must have messed up the configuration but i can't find where. anyideas?

thanks

=Arkii=

Heres Johnny
Hawkblood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 13:30
This may help.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Andrew_Neale
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2009
Location: The Normandy SR-2
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 19:13 Edited at: 13th Jul 2012 19:23
The methods listed in that error are all in 'simpleWindow.h' and 'simpleWindow.cpp' included with Dark GDK 2.0. Are these definitely in your project and 'simpleWindow.h' included in the file where you are calling those methods? If they are, is 'Windows.h' being found correctly (C++ set up to include the right include and lib directories)? I'm pretty new to C++ so sorry if this doesn't help.

The link Hawkblood is to one of my threads. DarkDynamix is not currently supported so I have made a work around. However, this is not the cause of the errors you're getting.

[Edit] Ignore my first paragraph. I've tried altering my project to match and didn't manage to reproduce the same errors you got. Sorry! I'll keep thinking and let you know if I work it out. [/Edit]

[Edit 2] Having looked again, I think it may be a C++ directory linking issue. Did you follow the step regarding adding the project's own directory to the list of dependencies? If not then maybe read that section and follow the steps and see if it helps. [/Edit 2]


Previously TEH_CODERER.
Hawkblood
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 19:29
"unresolved external symblol" errors means there is a call to a prototype without having a corresponding function. I may be telling you what you already know, but here is an example of what could cause this error:


this would fix the problem:


So ultimately, you are missing the actual function (or at least your compiler can't find it)

The fastest code is the code never written.
Andrew_Neale
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2009
Location: The Normandy SR-2
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 19:59
Thanks for the clarification, Hawkblood. I've gotten around the error before but couldn't remember exactly what it was. As I say, I've only started in C++ a few weeks back. That's one more for the knowledge bank!


Previously TEH_CODERER.
Mistrel
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2005
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 03:49 Edited at: 14th Jul 2012 03:51
The last RC moved the function definitions previously declared in .h files to their own .cpp file so that include guards could be added to the header. Add simpleWindow.cpp and initDarkGDK.cpp to your project to fix this error.

JohnA
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2011
Location: The second star on the right
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 16:55
i tried this too Minstrel, i am back to trying to use c++ 2008 and i guess i need to start over , i must have missed something in the setup phase of the sample program . thanks for all the help u guys.

=Arkii=

Heres Johnny
go2none
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2008
Location: London
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 18:01
Mistrel's suggestion worked for me and I was getting the same error. Has anything changed for you or is this still the same error message?
JohnA
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2011
Location: The second star on the right
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 19:25
i do believe i setup this simple project according to the help file in the darkgdk 2 package. I however am still getting this error.

and i don't understand why, I have these file in the stated directories that are in this error message so i am clueless, what am i doing wrong. I have included the .cpp files in the filter of the project like Minstrel said. I know c++, i learned it 20 years ago, but i seemed to have lost some knowledge along these past years. I have the bit about $(ProjectDir) in the proper place. it states that under the "active(win32)" section. I am running windows 7 64 bit, does that matter?

=Arkii=

Heres Johnny
go2none
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2008
Location: London
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 20:16
You will need to modify the includes in the files Mistrel mentioned.

Try:
JohnA
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2011
Location: The second star on the right
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 23:18
wow
"You will need to modify the includes in the files Mistrel mentioned. "

I totally misunderstood Minstrel, thanks for the clarity, it works great now
thank you all!!

=Arkii=

Heres Johnny

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-02-16 22:11:22
Your offset time is: 2020-02-16 22:11:22