Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
Uechi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 06:20 Edited at: 13th Jul 2012 06:25
I hope t be able to get non-rectangle pieces in the future
Uechi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 06:31
I want to delete these posts but I don't know how
Uechi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 06:45
Attached is zip file

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Uechi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 06:46
And a screenshot

Attachments

Login to view attachments
erebusman
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 15:15
Uechi, looks like a nice start!

I would suggest at the main menu having it have puzzles / images that are available for the user to use that are not dependent upon the user having an image on their computer.

While having a 'create your own puzzle' feature is fantastic many people will want to just dive in with one of your puzzles rather than their own.

Also when you do the image picker if you then decline to pick an image it errors out because it can not find the image.

To catch this use the GetSpriteExists to check if it was actually created or not and if not then do something else, like return to the main menu or reprompt the user to grab a different image (be careful not to stick the user in a loop though if they dont have an image!)


this is Tier 2 code how I might handle that:

if(agk::GetSpriteExists( 100) == 0) return;

So if the getspritexists for sprite 100 is false, then return back to the previous function.

Keep up the work its a nice idea.
Uechi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 16:14
@erebusman - thanks for the feedback. I will incorporate some of those things.
Funnell7
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 16:36
Uechi, this looks good. I like the way you can choose your own image. To erebusman's point, I agree, there should definately be some preloaded images to use...

Also, a minor tweek, when moving a puzzle piece around, you should move it using SetSpritePositionByOffset as opposed to SetSpritePosition. I think this would make a subtle yet nice difference...

Its a great start!!
Uechi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 16:50
@Funnell7 - what will using offset do? I have never used it and I am not sure what it will do/how it will work. Thanks for the critique and suggestions.
Funnell7
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2011
Location: UK, England
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 17:13 Edited at: 13th Jul 2012 17:15
Give it a try... SetSpritePositionByOffset allows you to position a sprite by its offset (which is its center by default). It simply means that when moving the puzzle piece around, rather than it being moved by its top left edge, it will be moved by its center... It just looks and feels alot nicer...

Its a simple change:



EDIT: Dodgy spelling...
Uechi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2012 20:30
@Funnell7 - worked great - thanks
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 15:50 Edited at: 14th Jul 2012 15:51
I have a very similar game in a very rough state started like this. It also has a create jigsaw option lol. You been tapping my phone ?


Attachments

Login to view attachments
Uechi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 19:12
@dvader. Yours looks great. I would like to be able to use irregular shapes but I don't have a template or enough skill yet.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 23:18
I would imagine that you need to look into the setSpriteMask() command, that way you could create jigsaws using any image. It's a great idea letting people create their own puzzles!

Nice work Uechi and DVader!


this.mess = abs(sin(times#))
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Jul 2012 12:30
My jigsaw still needs work, there are places they don't quite fit properly and such. It's quite difficult getting a nice jigsaw effect, even when searching the internet for free to use jigsaw pieces. A lot of graphic work which I hate so it may take awhile before it is finished yet.
I never used the mask command, just copyimage and black sprites to mask off the areas I don't need. More of a test to see if it would work, than a proper game attempt yet, but I can see potential for sure!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-24 17:59:15
Your offset time is: 2024-04-24 17:59:15