Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

PureGDK / How do you use dbSetDisplayMode() ??? (Mistrel, please help)

Author
Message
Hawkblood
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 17:09
This will cause a crash:
+ Code Snippet
I have a feeling I'm supposed to use it in place of something, but I can't figure it out.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Olby
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 18:01
Work's fine here on PB:
+ Code Snippet


Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2, PureBasic 4.61 + DarkGDK 2.0
Hawkblood
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 19:22
That's good to know, but I'm not using PureBasic. I'll see if I can modify it to work in DGDK2.0.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Olby
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 21:31
Quote: "That's good to know, but I'm not using PureBasic. I'll see if I can modify it to work in DGDK2.0."


Well that means it's not a problem in GDK or at least not within the headers generated for PB (as the dll is the same for all languages).


Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2, PureBasic 4.61 + DarkGDK 2.0
Hawkblood
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2012 22:21
The point is, I can't get it to work in c++. It's a good trouble-shooting aid to know that PB calls it and uses it correctly, but would you try it in c++...

The fastest code is the code never written.
Olby
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 15th Jul 2012 01:38
If you can give a basic source code I can just copy and paste I will test it for you. Unfortunately I don't know C++ but I have it installed as part of Visual Basic .Net.


Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2, PureBasic 4.61 + DarkGDK 2.0
Hawkblood
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 15th Jul 2012 01:56
It would look almost identical(if not exactly) as the code you gave earlier. I poured over your code to check mine. The functions are the same except some of the variables. It translates almost perfectly.

So, why is it not working in c++? This looks like a job for Mistrel!

The fastest code is the code never written.
Olby
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 15th Jul 2012 11:37
Could you build an executable and send it to me (inc. dll). It might be an issues with the hardware in the first place. Who knows.


Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2, PureBasic 4.61 + DarkGDK 2.0
Hawkblood
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 15th Jul 2012 23:19
I was looking in the wrong spot for the error. It wasn't dbSetDisplayMode() that was causing it. It had to do with the current bitmap. I corrected that, but now when I use AA, it won't allow my FX to work and it crashes after running a while. I'm using Evolved's normalmapping.fx and postbloom. I'm not sure if this can be fixed. I was unable to do AA with bloom in GDK1.0, so maybe there's something wrong with trying that method.

The fastest code is the code never written.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-07-22 03:50:58
Your offset time is: 2017-07-22 03:50:58