Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Compiling on laptop giving 21 Frame per sec...

Author
Message
Sana_Sajjad
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jul 2012
Location:
Posted: 17th Jul 2012 20:31
Hello all TGC friends... i am making a 3d game having level made in 3ds max with .dbo format... initially I was working on my Desktop PC... now i have purchased new laptop...but whenever i compile my game on that laptop it gives 21 or 20 frames per seconds...
here are specs of my Desktop PC and Laptop
Desktop PC:
intel Core 2 Quad 2.33Ghz
4.0 GB Ram
Nvidia 8600 GT 512mb
Laptop:
AMD Turion X2 Ultra Dual Core ZM-80 processor
4.0 GB Ram
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3200 (1.4GB on Sharing) 256mb Dedicated
======
So can anyone tell me why my laptop compiling game at ~21 FPS?

=============================================================
G!rLz CaN C0d3 GaM3s....!!!!
=============================================================
Hawkblood
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 17th Jul 2012 21:19
Compile it on you desktop and transfer the files directly to your laptop, then see if it runs at 20fps. If it does, it could be something with your laptop and not GDK.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Sana_Sajjad
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jul 2012
Location:
Posted: 17th Jul 2012 21:31
I just tried it again. But its again on 21 fps
what could be the problem with laptop? graphics problem?

=============================================================
G!rLz CaN C0d3 GaM3s....!!!!
=============================================================
Hawkblood
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 17th Jul 2012 22:32
Maybe. Make sure you're not running a bunch of crap in the background. Check your performance in your TaskManager without running the game and then again while running it.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Mr Bigglesworth
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2012 06:01
Well, the laptop doesn't have great specs, but it should be ok. How many polygons does your world have when you run it (you can use dbText(0, 0, dbStatistic(1))?
WLGfx
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 19th Jul 2012 02:20
I don't have great specs and most of my development is done on a laptop but when I run stuff on my PC it does run only a tad faster. The PC is single core, my laptop is dual core.

Mental arithmetic? Me? (That's for computers) I can't subtract a fart from a plate of beans!
Warning! May contain Nuts!
Sana_Sajjad
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jul 2012
Location:
Posted: 19th Jul 2012 07:05
Quote: "dbText(0, 0, dbStatistic(1))"

its output is 476964. what value it is? Polygons?

=============================================================
G!rLz CaN C0d3 GaM3s....!!!!
=============================================================
Rudolpho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 19th Jul 2012 12:36
It's the number of triangles drawn in the last render (to the main camera) I believe.
So assuming traingulated meshes that's about half a million polygons which isn't too little for a not-new graphics card.
You mention that your laptop's graphic card only has 256MB dedicated memory; the mesh data for the polygons alone (assuming a single UV data stage) would be around 17MB, then there are textures etc. that might be in the video memory as well; is it possible that it "fills up" so that data has to be transferred between the vram and your normal ram in each frame?


"Why do programmers get Halloween and Christmas mixed up?"

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-18 23:10:29
Your offset time is: 2019-10-18 23:10:29