Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Dark GDK 2.0 does not have the same level horsepower as its predecessor's ?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Unfortunately, I am finding Dark GDK 2.0 way slower than Dark GDK 1.0 or Dark Basic Pro.

I do not about you guys - my card is a bit old - GEFORCE 9400GT 1 GB RAM. But I am finding Dark Basic Pro and Dark GDK 1.0 giving a much better frame rate.
Hawkblood
Years of Service
User Offline
I think it has to do with all the .dll calls. I'm no expert, but in 2.0 you're calling a function that in turn calls a .dll function. That's 2 calls just to do one thing. In some cases, with auto-assignment, it also calls another function for the numeric assignment. If you aren't calling all those functions, it runs super-fast on my machine (compared to 1.0). But as soon as I start calling functions within my game, it slows down significantly-- not too slow, mind you, but very noticable.

The fastest code is the code never written.
Dar13
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jul 2012 21:42
There's gotta be a more performance-friendly way to call these DLL functions, but I don't have time to explore. Perhaps WLGfx can jump in and share his idea?

Olby
Years of Service
User Offline
Don't know about you guys but I have compared every single example code that comes with GDK 2.0 with the ones compiled with DBPro. On average I can achieve same FPS and even more. However I do think 2.0 performance depends on RAM & CPU more than it has to do with video card.

Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2, PureBasic 4.61 + DarkGDK 2.0
Juggernaut
Years of Service
User Offline