Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Is there any way to PASTE 3d Objects like a sprite?

Author
Message
Alex_Peres
10
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 13th Aug 2012 15:32
Is there any way to PASTE 3d Objects like a sprite? I want to use 3d planes like sprites.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 14th Aug 2012 01:11
CLONE OBJECT?

Mr Bigglesworth
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th Aug 2012 02:34
You just have to position them and hide and show them.
Hawkblood
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 14th Aug 2012 10:29
clone/instance object

The fastest code is the code never written.
Alex_Peres
10
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 14th Aug 2012 19:17
Thanks guys! But I have little problem. My game created by dbPasteSprite. So, it's not possible to use clone/instance objects... Maybe some one knows better way to make this through 3d plains?
Mr Bigglesworth
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th Aug 2012 20:11
Then you will have to rewrite your game to use 3D.
Matty H
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 14th Aug 2012 20:50
You can draw 3D objects to plains and then use the plains like sprites but you can't paste the plain. As someone said, you can just show/hide the plains.

You have a camera which just views the object(mask everything else), then set camera to image, texture plain with image. You will need to use transparency, set the camera backdrop to black and set transparency on the plain, this part I'm not certain about.

Alex_Peres
10
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 15th Aug 2012 12:13
I didn't understand what can I do with "show/hide" the plains???
Can anyone to explain?

And one more thing:
How fast 3d-plains to compare with Sprites??? Thanks.
Rudolpho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Aug 2012 13:03
The sprites are implemented as 3D plains as I understant it.
However they're locked to their own rendering pipeline and you have less control over them. I also believe they are a bit slower (no idea why) than emulating sprites with 3d plains facing the camera yourself. Your biggest problem would be positioning them at an appropriate distance from the camera to make them have their correct pixel sizes on screen.

As for showing / hiding the plains, I'm not sure, it might be referring to how you could have your "real" (3D) camera fixed in place and implement your own 2D camera system by shuffling all sprites positions and then hiding the ones that end up outside the screen to speed things up (although excluding would be more efficient for that).


"Why do programmers get Halloween and Christmas mixed up?"
Alex_Peres
10
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 15th Aug 2012 13:22 Edited at: 15th Aug 2012 13:30
The Problem how to place 3d plains in 2d worls is solved!
See in attach!

But how fast can it be...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 15th Aug 2012 14:06
Quote: "emulating sprites with 3d plains facing the camera yourself. "


Billboarding

Alex_Peres
10
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 15th Aug 2012 19:46
Quote: "Billboarding"

Please note that eXtends is NOT compatible with Windows Vista and Windows 7.
Rudolpho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Aug 2012 20:32
As I just said you can easily do it yourself.

Also billboarding is more for 3D environments where you fake far-away objects by replacing them with a flat plain having a texture picturing the 3D object.


"Why do programmers get Halloween and Christmas mixed up?"
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 15th Aug 2012 20:52
Some of it... Especially the billboarding does work... At least the demo does...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-07-20 17:03:21
Your offset time is: 2019-07-20 17:03:21