Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / [DBP] Chainsaw Maze -WIP

Author
Message
Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 5th Sep 2012 06:58 Edited at: 10th Sep 2012 15:18
edit: placed Download link where it is easy to find. /edit
download here
file size: 67MB
you will need quick-time installed to run the game.
.mov was the only decent movie compression I could use.

Hello all,
I have spent the last few years playing with various aspects of game design but have never actually produced a game.
A little while ago I decided to see if I actually could put together the elements of a first person shooter.

This is the result, a little FPS I have titled Chainsaw Maze.

It is short and sweet. You run around a short maze with a chainsaw taking out monsters.

I wouldn't really call this a serious game attempt, but rather a study in FPS design.
there is no depth to story or even a scenario that makes sense. Just FPS ACTION!

I have learned a lot through this project. I think it's a pretty nifty little game.

See what you think!

I am interested in any feedback good or bad, objective, subjective etc. I am still working on improving elements of the project.

Things still to work on:

-Pickups.
-varied sounds for entities.
-bump mapping.
-maybe more weapons too. though that may wait for my next project.
-spatter effects for walls and ceiling.
-much better level design and beautification

system requirments: -

I'm not sure exactly, I guess we'll see what it runs on for definite figures
It works nicely on my stock standard laptop which is:

amd dualcore 1.9ghz processor
1 gig onboard graphics
4 gig ram
onboard sound
quicktime (for the moment it is necessary)

We'll go with that for minimum system specs and if a less powerful pc can run it then I will lower it.

Screen shots:

intro/splash


gameplay







gameplay video needs to be updated as the original is quite early.
for now here is at least a look at the general feel of the game.




Last but not least...

Download link.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18422723/ChainsawMaze.exe
file size: 67MB

This game is free to download and share with your friends.

But if you are going to share it with your enemies then you will need to give me a shrubbery.

I should probably add that this game is not suitable for children.

Thankyou for your time.

I hope you enjoy it.

kezzla

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 5th Sep 2012 10:30
Nice work buddy... The thing that caught my eye was the walls... They have a nice effect on them...

I hope to follow in this way soon and release my TDR TW project too

keep it up!

Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 5th Sep 2012 21:28 Edited at: 5th Sep 2012 21:32
Thanks Mr Valentine.

I want to get some bump mapping onto the walls however I get issues when it is applied. I'll work it out for future updates.

I got the wall textures from CGtextures.com


It's a great resource for royalty free textures and images.

What Is your project if I may ask? Look forward to giving it a go.

cheers for your feedback.

kezzla

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 5th Sep 2012 21:52
I'd go for parallax mapping if I were you, it gives you some really nice results and it's not hard to implement at all. Also, you can control the light source within the shader as well.

Let me know if you want me to write you a small example or not.

TheComet

"if you don't understand recursion than you probably don't understand recursion." ~Jerico2day
Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 5th Sep 2012 22:25
ok, thanks Comet.
I tried one of evolved's shaders early on with this project, I always found the bump mapping too shiny, and it streched terribly on the ceiling and floor for some reason. I have not even begun to look into shader coding yet.

If it is not too much trouble a small example would be great.

thankyou.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 5th Sep 2012 22:40
My project http://www.vaseemvalentine.co.uk/category/tech-demo-room-tiny-world/ I hope to made headway and release a public EXE very soon, just as soon as I get the distribution mechanism [SPP1.7] working...

Have you got to Demo stage yet?

Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 6th Sep 2012 06:43 Edited at: 10th Sep 2012 14:21
yeah mate, there's a demo.

Download link.

file size: 67MB

I might move the link further up my first page so people can find it easier.

give it a shot and see how it goes.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 03:40
Quote: "Could not load Animation at LINE ~"




Happy to see somebody else using SPP are you using version 1.7 by any chance?

Also it would be worth mentioning that it must be run outside of the Downloads folder in Vista/7 erm 8

Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 12:39
Quote: ""Could not load Animation at LINE ~""

what?!

has anyone else had this issue?

I just downloaded and ran my file and it works for me.

I am using smart packer 1.7

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 16:52
Hmm... Will try redownloading again then...

Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 18:35
Thankyou mate, I really hope it works, I hate to think that my demo is dud.

If anyone else reading this thread with the download allowance to spare could verify my files integrity please do so and tell me if it works.

if it doesn't please post your system specs and any reason you can think of for it not to be working.

the animation files are in the compiled exe.

they were .mov files, if that matters. every system should be able to run .mov files though right?

@mr valentine - thankyou for your time in troubleshooting. greatly appreciated.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 18:49
ahh I can spare myself a few minutes downloading then... .mov requires quicktime...

went back up while writing this to click thedownload and give it another go before posting to verify the issue once more and...

ok nevermind... no longer interested in this project, until you find another download site as I refuse to be forced onto a porn site and made a fool of...

that goes for anybody using any of those daft stupid file sharing sites... do yourself a favour and get a dropbox account...

Yes indeed I am furious.

Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 19:53
porn site?

Ok, I am not sure what is going on. I did a Google search for free file hosting. I found a site (mediafire) which offered hosting and so I went with it, nothing darker than that.

I have a drop box account and i can upload the file to that account as soon as I can do it, I fail to see the difference between the hosting sites when I recieve the exact same file back from them as i uploaded.

please outline the details of your porn site allegation . I hate to think I am sharing porn spam.


My link works for me. Please anyone with good antivirus software please can you verify my file or I will remove it.


I Will not share trash.

my file works for me.

I am bewildered by these insinuations.

be safe people, but still, have I been hacked by a third party?

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 19:58 Edited at: 8th Sep 2012 19:58
no not you, just mediafire allowing scripts to be run through their ad partners...

just reinforces the fact I will never download from such sites again period.

I only went against my ideals as I wanted to help you...

Anyway did you try removing Quicktime if you have it installed?

awaiting your dropbox download link

Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 20:11
ok,mr valentine, i will need to convert my files from .mov to an acceptable media and then recompile my project, and then export through smart packer pro, and upload on a non suspect file sharing media.

I am sorry for anyone who uploaded my exe with my .mov file. I wish no harm on anyone. I just thought the file would work on any system.

I thought that my exe project would work for anyone who downloaded the compiled exe.

what is a readily acceptable video media format?

i am still confused... where did you get the porn reference from? it is serious. I have no porn links and no porn affiliation. how did you come to this conclusion?

it reflects badly on me. I need to know where I was tainted.

I do not want tainted associations. please share my apparent misdeeds.

I have nothing to hide.

kezzla

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 20:18 Edited at: 8th Sep 2012 20:19
Quote: "no not you, just mediafire allowing scripts to be run through their ad partners..."


Not you buddy so not to worry...

Did you have QT installed?

Umm AVI works fine... but large... as its windows only why not try WMV

EDIT

By as its windows only I mean the program

Gunslinger
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 8th Sep 2012 20:41
You can use my site to upload your file. Because i like your project.

http://unrated-games.com/upload/upload.php
files will be at
http://unrated-games.com/upload/uploads/<filename>
( http://unrated-games.com/upload/uploads/download.rar <- for example )

Until you found a good hoster.
But if there's to much traffic, or abusing of the service, or any other reasons in my opinion, i'll delete the files.
Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 10th Sep 2012 15:04
Thankyou for your generosity Gunslinger. It is greatly appreciated.

I have replaced my mediafire link with a Dropbox link.

I have left the .mov files in there, because It is the only small video format I can get to work with DBpro.

At least for the time being you will need Quicktime.

my game and Quicktime together are a smaller download than my video files as an avi. At some point in the future I may buy dark video.

anyway, see if this works for you and please tell me any issues you run into with it.

thanks
kezzla

TheComet
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 10th Sep 2012 15:32
Quote: "Umm AVI works fine... but large... as its windows only why not try WMV"


AVI is not Windows only, where did you get that from? AVI is one of the most universal formats out there, just make sure you use a decent encoder to reduce file size.

WMV is a Windows format, hence Windows Media Video.

Also, nothing is wrong with Mediafire either, sure it has adverts and stuff but that's why it's free.

@ Kezzla

Sure, demo coming up.

TheComet

"Why geeks like computers: unzip, strip, touch, finger, grep, mount, fsck, more, yes, fsck, fsck, fsck, umount, sleep." - Unknown
MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 10th Sep 2012 22:43
Quote: "At some point in the future I may buy dark video."


NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Just don't...

Quote: ""Umm AVI works fine... but large... as its windows only why not try WMV""


hehe TheComet I knew someone would get confused with that sentence... I never said AVI was windows only... I would have thought WMV was a clue... mind you WMV works in MAC but I think a plugin in required...

Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 15th Sep 2012 18:56
hi all, just checking back in.

I just want to ask has anyone actually got the demo to run?

I want to share my work and the last feedback I got said that it didn't run.

It runs for me with quicktime installed.

I would like at least one confirmation that the exe works so I can fix it if it's broken.

any feedback on it is welcome. I am interested in both criticism and aspects that are pleasing.

I need external perspective on my project.

again, thankyou for your time.

kezzla

nonZero
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2011
Location: Dark Empire HQ, Otherworld, Silent Hill
Posted: 18th Sep 2012 13:03 Edited at: 18th Sep 2012 13:04
Man, you got me at the wrong time. I'm busy downloading win8 Preview x64 atm and I can't spare the bandwidth as I'm on 384kbits line which gives me about 39 - 48 bytes per second dl speed so win8 will take me another 23 hours. I am interested in this - I'm actually posting so I can get mailback to remind me (they still don't have that "subscribe" button) - and will dl the game tomorrow or the day after to test.

Sidenote: I also use Mediafire too and I have never been redirected to any site - porn or otherwise. You get lots of adverts but but that's about it so don't blame yourself. What happened to MrV was like a 1 in 2^128 thing and because of it, he'll never be struck by lightning now - so he should thank you
(All the same, maybe I should think about an alternative cloud storage. I don't like 1 in 2^128. I'll look around. I might even consider paying for a storage cloud).

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 18th Sep 2012 13:46
nonZero lol, true, I never said it happened everytime ^^

But I just hate those sites and see no need for adverts... they charge users already, I believe someone sent me a link, and they were a paying user, there was still ads on the download link... so that is another reason I see no need to use them...

And to top it off, I have my own web storage anyway >.<

Dar13
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2008
Location: Microsoft VisualStudio 2010 Professional
Posted: 18th Sep 2012 19:45
Quote: "But I just hate those sites and see no need for adverts... they charge users already, I believe someone sent me a link, and they were a paying user, there was still ads on the download link... so that is another reason I see no need to use them..."

Use Adblock or some other extension for your browser. Problem solved.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 18th Sep 2012 19:58 Edited at: 18th Sep 2012 20:00
Quote: "Use Adblock or some other extension for your browser. Problem solved."


AdBlock is more trouble than simply avoiding the site unless absolutely neccessary, but I suppose you agree with their policies... and some sites do not function without showing the ads first...

But I think that is where we should leave that debate...

Quote: "
I need external perspective on my project.

again, thankyou for your time.
"


Let me know where I can download and test [I officially now have T&C's attached to my name lol]

EDIT

Kezzla - Does MP4 not work? I am yet to test this myself...

Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 19th Sep 2012 05:47
yeah, i use add and script blockers in firefox when I browse. probably why I never even noticed adds or redirects in the first place.
anyway the problem has been solved.

I had no luck with wmv or any mpeg format i tried, they wont load.
seems like the options are huge avi or compressed mov. I went with compression.

All of my links were changed over when I switched the download to dropbox.

but here it is again

download from dropbox here

nonZero
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2011
Location: Dark Empire HQ, Otherworld, Silent Hill
Posted: 22nd Sep 2012 21:18 Edited at: 22nd Sep 2012 21:24
It plays okay so far. Obviously there's still some collision issues, etc. The are only 2 technical issues I can report:
1) There's a dependency issues (missing dlls) that I think is caused by Smart Packer (you are using Smart Packer right? Or am I just mad? Cats replaced my brain with a bath sponge recently so it's plausible).
2) I'm going to assume the intro screen should not look like this

The reason may be due to the fact that I use CCCP and not Quick Time.

Anyway, hopefully this provides you some use as debug info.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 23rd Sep 2012 07:09 Edited at: 23rd Sep 2012 07:13
gave it a quick run (as administrator).

not keen on how dark it is or having to hug walls to move about. it's a scare tactic that just isn't worth it, to me, as it's more "tedium" than "suspense".

i took out a few of the beasts and noticed pretty sluggish performance that seemed to be blood-splatter related. ie, i'd leave the area and come back to the blood = lag. not sure how you're applying the blood but i noticed some z-fighting in the blood while the lag was occuring.

and, the videos invoke codeces but i never saw more than nothing

i'll also mention that it wasn't clear whether i was hitting the beasts while i was being hit. it was a bloody confusion but maybe the frenzied feel was what you were going for

Virtual Nomad @ California, USA . DBPro V7.7
AMD Phenomâ„¢ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
Kezzla
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 23rd Sep 2012 08:50
Thanks guys, I really appreciate your input.

@non-zero

dll issues eh? I will have to look into that, did it say which dlls were having problems?

The start screen shouldn't look like that. I think I am going to redesign the splash to eliminate these annoying quicktime issues.

where did you notice collision issues? Thanks for taking the time to test it for me.

@Virtual nomad
Thankyou too for your insight. this is great. note taken on the darkness. I may put in a light switch for those who want better visibility (I was always a massive silent hill fan and so really dig the whole darkness thing.)

I am going to look back into my blood routine and optimize it. I actually heard a good suggestion on another thread about how to handle blood, so I'll try a new approach.

and yeah, I did really go for the whole bloody confusing mess in the confrontations.(B-grade horror fan)
I will find a way to make it more clear who is hitting who.

Again guys, thanks for your help.

kezzla

nonZero
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2011
Location: Dark Empire HQ, Otherworld, Silent Hill
Posted: 24th Sep 2012 00:07 Edited at: 24th Sep 2012 00:11
Quote: "did it say which dlls were having problems?"

Sorry, didn't remember them all. I think they were all MS Visual C Runtime libraries as they all had "MSVC" in their names. Here's what I recall:


Quote: "where did you notice collision issues? "

One of the monsters seemed to have stuck it's shoulder into the corner of a wall. Sadly I can't recreate it (I tried a few times) and screen cap it. The main collision thing was what Virtual Nomad mentioned about the blood although I found it seemed even worse with the bodies. Basically when you walk by, it jerks (It feels more like sliding collision against the business side of a giant bread knife** than lag tbh but I'm not really much of an FPS gamer so I'll stand corrected). I included an illustration here.
**


Quote: "I was always a massive silent hill fan and so really dig the whole darkness thing."

Me too. I still hold SH1 was one of the best games ever! The ambient sound, walls, models and chainsaw do very strongly convey that sort of atmosphere and the dark maze has that good claustrophobic feel. I'd suggest a Pocket Flashlight for player one with a limited battery but that may add quite a mass to the work-load. Me, I don't mind the dark (I actually like it) but a lot of players may I guess.

Quote: "I think I am going to redesign the splash to eliminate these annoying quicktime issues"

Yeah, good idea. Btw you can compress an .avi file as avi is only a container. I don't know what compressors you need licences for and not though. You'd have to look into that. Worst-case scenario, you have your installer tell them to get CCCP or something. I know H264 looks really great and produces small sizes but it's likely not licence-free.

Quote: "i'll also mention that it wasn't clear whether i was hitting the beasts while i was being hit"

It's like one of those arcade games you spend a week's worth of change on in one afternoon - just hold the fire-button down and charge: "Yeeeeaaah!!!"

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Juggernaut
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Mar 2012
Location:
Posted: 27th Dec 2012 22:52
Cannot load animation error !

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-07-14 21:13:42
Your offset time is: 2020-07-14 21:13:42