Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / A Couple Questions From A Newbie

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Alright so I'm pretty new to DB. So far, in working on my "game"(which is more of basically a learning feature test), I have been able to make a player character(in top down view) that is able to face the mouse, and be moved around with WASD. Before DB, I used and still do, Game Maker 8. The differences between Game Maker and DB are making DB somewhat confusing to me. So, here's a few questions I have:

1. Game Maker makes the game creation process visual, whereas DB does not. How can I organize my code, to make it easier for me? for example:

All of the main code, as far as gameplay-wise goes in the do loop, am I right? Well how can I organize this code, to make it easier to read? And does it matter what order the code is in?

2. I know I said I have a few questions, but I can't really think of any more right now. I think my main problem is I just need to learn more of the syntax and functions, and practice using them and seeing how they work. I will edit this post if I think of any more though.

Thanks for any help anyone gives me. Oh, and the above code, if it is of any use to anyone, feel free to use it. T
nonZero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Sep 2012 21:28 Edited at: 17th Sep 2012 21:30
Quote: "How can I organize my code, to make it easier for me? "

I use the classic tried and tested functional route. That means I try to place all the blocks of code I call in relevantly-named functions and I try to make them dynamic and re-usable because it actually makes life easier in the long run.

Quote: "All of the main code, as far as gameplay-wise goes in the do loop, am I right?"