Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Android / I want to use my Mac to compile Android games, is it possible?

Author
Message
halley
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 23rd Sep 2012 05:14
I can't find a tool just like cygwin on Mac OS. How should I compile on Mac?

The Miracrea Games
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 23rd Sep 2012 06:32
Macs are basically *nix based machines (unlike Windows).

In theory, you should be able to do the same commands from a command line prompt as from the cygwin interface described in the documentation (adjusting your paths as appropriate, which is the tricky bit).

I have AGK/cygwin/Eclipse working on my Windows box, but have not gotten the right combination on my Mac, yet. I didn't worry about it too much, since I have it working on my Windows box.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
halley
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 23rd Sep 2012 18:31
I want to compile android games on my Mac. I installed all software needed. When I want to use ndk to compile the template folder, the terminal shows that bash: ndk-build command not found.

I test some unix scripts, always show command not found.
Can you give me a hand?

The Miracrea Games
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 23rd Sep 2012 19:00
In a command window, try this command:


This should let you find the path for the command. Then you can try running the command with the fully qualified path, or you can add it to your PATH setup in your /Users/<username>/.bash_profile file.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
halley
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 24th Sep 2012 06:26 Edited at: 24th Sep 2012 06:28
@Ancient Lady, I've solve the problem. I use sudo sh to run unix command, then it is ok.

It is possible to compile Android games on Mac and I've got success.

The Miracrea Games
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 24th Sep 2012 16:27
This is good to hear. I started the process and then stopped when it wasn't working. I can work easily on my Windows PC, so it wasn't worth figuring out the problem on my Mac (and I don't have any free USB ports on my Mac).

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
fistick21
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Oct 2012
Location:
Posted: 17th Oct 2012 22:06
Yes ,is posible.

Sunt pasionat de jocuri mai mult decat de fotbal.
gsdblack
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2013 17:07
Halley did you follow the same steps in the guide for setting up tier 2 android?
Marie Weaver
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posted: 7th Jan 2013 12:36
Yes, it is possible to compile android game on Mac.. got it
gsdblack
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 01:06
I didn't ask if it was possible to compile an android game on a Mac, I asked if it was the same steps...got it?
halley
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 08:05
It is not same, but very similar.

The Miracrea Games

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-09-16 15:41:37
Your offset time is: 2019-09-16 15:41:37