Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Best program to make a map!

Author
Message
Noslon
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2012
Location:
Posted: 7th Oct 2012 22:57
Hello i want to know which program is the best one to make a 3D map for my game, should i use the 3D World Studio from The Game Creators or other one?
Olby
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 8th Oct 2012 03:21
Here's another really good one, made in DBP and exports directly to DBO, has many cool options.

http://www.evolved-software.com/mapscape/mapscape


Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2, PureBasic 4.61 + DarkGDK 2.0
aerostudios
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2009
Location: Oklahoma City OK (USA)
Posted: 8th Oct 2012 03:51 Edited at: 8th Oct 2012 03:54
i use AC3D exclusively for my 3d game creation. Che k out my TOWER CAB project mentioned in the WIP section and the screen gallery
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Oct 2012 07:11
I find 3DWS good enough, but depending how you use it, if you apply clever tricks you can do some interesting things with it...

Otherwise it is quite limiting and discontinued by its developer for some time now...

Still worth the money though... for quick designs and complex designs too...

[Try out MapScape mentioned above... it is quite similar I believe]

Noslon
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2012
Location:
Posted: 9th Oct 2012 22:37
ok thanks everyone i made a map in Map Scale from the link that Olby gave me up there ^.
I want to know how can i put it in my game what code i have to use?
is a .msl file.
Brendy boy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 10th Oct 2012 00:34
you have to export it to .dbo file and load it with load object command

Noslon
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2012
Location:
Posted: 10th Oct 2012 00:43
mmm how i export it to .dbo?
WLGfx
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 10th Oct 2012 02:12
Also Delgine DeleD has light-mapping and support for exporting .dbo files.

Mental arithmetic? Me? (That's for computers) I can't subtract a fart from a plate of beans!
Warning! May contain Nuts!
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 10th Oct 2012 06:34
You could suffice with .X for now...

Olby
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th Oct 2012 22:38 Edited at: 10th Oct 2012 22:38
Umm... like this:



Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2, PureBasic 4.61 + DarkGDK 2.0

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Noslon
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2012
Location:
Posted: 11th Oct 2012 22:31 Edited at: 11th Oct 2012 23:40
oh ok thanks but 1 question, how can i get more textures to use? by the way Map Scape doesn't work here idk why so i buy 3D World Studio now i have it, i need more textures!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-05-22 06:04:18
Your offset time is: 2019-05-22 06:04:18