Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / DBO File: No Texture, Only Lightmap?

Author
Message
Alduin768
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 25th Oct 2012 18:56 Edited at: 26th Oct 2012 05:29
EDIT I've stopped using MapScape, and switched over to a program called DeleD. It's a lot like MapScape and it exports the textures with the correct paths.

Hi, I've created a small test level in MapScape, exported it to a .DBO and loaded it into the my project. However, the map only shows the lightmap on a white texture, it doesn't load the brick walls or the concrete floors...

All of the textures for the map were included in the same directory as the .DBO file. I have no idea why it isn't loading. I even tried loading a map from Evolved's example and the same thing was happening!

I tried including the lightmap effect file with the DBO, but at that point the entire map turns invisible. I know it's still there because the characters collision still works.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Olby
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2012 00:00
Open up the dbo file in Notepad and see if texture name has absolute path. It needs to be relative (i.e. "Textures\brick.dds" and not "C:\My Stuff\Textures\brick.dds"). I can't remember how Mapscape stores texture names. It could be one of the reasons why you're not able to make them show up.


Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2, PureBasic 4.61 + DarkGDK 2.0
Alduin768
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2011
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2012 04:15
Thank for your reply Olby, and sorry for the delay. You are correct, MapScape writes to texture into the file like this:



Instead of how they should be. I also tried editing the texture paths in notepad, but the file becomes corrupted when I save it. Is there another way of editing these paths?

[CENTER][/CENTER]
Noslon
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2012
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2012 06:37
I have that problem that when i put the map its only light.
and what i did open it with notepad all i saw was strange things like this @À À¾ Ä ÀB ÀÂ
Brendy boy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 26th Oct 2012 13:26
check the texture paths with limb texture name command

Mr Bigglesworth
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 26th Oct 2012 15:32 Edited at: 26th Oct 2012 15:33
You need to apply this shader to the map (I atttached it).

EDIT: Nevermind, you already tried that, I can't read

Attachments

Login to view attachments
darkvee
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Nov 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Oct 2012 23:13
I notice your using dbLoadEffect("lightmap.fx", 2, 0);

Using zero means the texture flag is set to zero, the effect will use the textures already mapped to the model. Is that what your wanting to do?

darkvee

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-09-18 13:01:52
Your offset time is: 2019-09-18 13:01:52