Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / [Help] Appup Rejection

Author
Message
Lavaflyer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jul 2012
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Posted: 7th Nov 2012 23:12
My game Block Ooo got rejected on the Appup store because my exit button (button to exit the app) doesn't work. On all my machines the problem doesn't exist and the app shuts down properly. I'm using return to exit the main.agc do loop when the user clicks the exit button. Is there any other/easier/effiecient way to exit an app with AppGameKit??
The Zoq2
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 7th Nov 2012 23:28
The command "end" should work, it may be bugged in the lates builds of AppGameKit, but it should work if you use it in the Main.agc file.
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 7th Nov 2012 23:28 Edited at: 7th Nov 2012 23:29
Did you update with the 108 beta before uploading?

The end command dont work inside functions or gosubs there.

Iam still waiting for the agk update with windows sensors and touch screen commands.

My game is completely finished.

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 8th Nov 2012 09:43
If you set a flag in your subroutine or function rather than using the end command, then check for that flag in your main loop in the main.agc file, then call end from there it should work. I had the same problem in my app.


this.mess = abs(sin(times#))
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 8th Nov 2012 11:47
I've had to do the same as Baxslash. I drop back through the code when the leave flag is 1. You may need to tidy up some of your code to make it work everywhere.

DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2012 15:05
I spent a good few hours wondering why my code was not exiting with the end command. I was trying to track down a bug at the time. It is an odd one to be sure. I also found using end in the main worked and that was a little perplexing at first! It makes tracking down bugs a little more difficult at the moment, but I still use 1076 in the main, until the newer version is not a beta. Although some of the new commands look useful

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 8th Nov 2012 15:39
Lavaflyer, have you tried installing your app using whatever you submitted to the AppUp store and see how it behaves?

There might be something that got changed in the process.

But definitely make sure that you only use the 'end' command in the main.agc file as suggested by everyone else.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 8th Nov 2012 19:05 Edited at: 8th Nov 2012 19:05
Yes this is a known bug in V108 BETA. Imagine END and RETURN and ENDFUNCTION are also the same assembly code instruction "RET". When you enter a subroutine or function you are Jumping "JMP" to a new address loction and the "RET" returns to the previous point in your program just before you jumped away. You have to come out of all your jump nests so you are right back in your original main loop, and only then will the END command work for you, i.e.



Hogging the awesome since 1999
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 8th Nov 2012 19:14
I rewrote my code to do as batvink and bax recomended.

I couldt wait for the updated bug fix

But at the same time

Do i belive this avoids any junk in memory also, compared to using it inside an gosub or function.

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
Lavaflyer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jul 2012
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 03:16
Thanks for all the help and suggestions.

I was using Return in the main loop in the main.agc file. I switched it to the End command and the problem still occurs but only when installed via AppUp's install process (i.e. I can only re-create the error while beta-testing my app through AppUp). I am still using 1082 beta. When I run the msi directly on my PC, then the End command works fine.

So to get around the problem, I put a "hack" into the Core.cpp file - I simply call ExitProcess(0) right at the end of _tWinMain just before the return 0 line. I know this is NOT the correct, desireable way to end a C++ program but it did resolve the issue and I have seen no other side effects or issues as a result of adding this line of code. In fact, my app just successfully made it through the binary testing phase of the AppUp approval process!

Maybe this will help someone else.
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 16:36
How many days before you got any email about errors etc?

I have bin waiting for 2 days now

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 16:45
In the past it has taken up to a couple of weeks for AppUp to validate my games, they normally take around 4-7 days though.


this.mess = abs(sin(times#))
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 16:50
Thanks bax.
This means that if they find an error so are i out of the competition

Dont think i have the time for fixing it and get approved inside the time limit?

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 16:51
Unlikely, normally as long as you got your app in for validation it counts. As long as you eventually fix all the bugs they find of course

I won a competition or two on games that hadn't passed validation yet.


this.mess = abs(sin(times#))
Matty H
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 16:58
Quote: "Dont think i have the time for fixing it and get approved inside the time limit?"


Did you specify that it was for the competition, they are supposed to fast-track our apps.

Also, the deadline is to get your game in the store by 1st December, I think they just recommend getting it in for 21st November since it takes time to validate.

I still think you have plenty of time I'm probably still a week away from submitting mine.

Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 17:50
Sorry guys but it states.

If you don't submit your app to the AppUp store in time, and/or it's not approved, you won't be eligible for final judging. Check the submission requirements and give yourself plenty of time to get it in. We're working with Intel to have your apps go through the fast lane, but we can't offer miracles for late entries. The deadline for round 2 entries is November 21, 2012

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 17:52
Didn't see that one, that's a little harsh. Better hurry up then eh?


this.mess = abs(sin(times#))
xCept
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 18:19
That wording is still rather vague... Submitting the app to the AppUp store in time means by November 21st. It may take a week or longer for Intel to review and approve it, but I would hope we are okay as long as it is in by Nov 21. Otherwise I'm in trouble.

Quote: "If you don't submit your app to the AppUp store in time, and/or it's not approved, you won't be eligible for final judging. Check the submission requirements and give yourself plenty of time to get it in. We're working with Intel to have your apps go through the fast lane, but we can't offer miracles for late entries. The deadline for round 2 entries is November 21, 2012"
Matty H
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 13th Nov 2012 23:09
I definitely read that your game needs to be on sale by 1st December so you must get it in for 21st November to give time for validation. So we still have some time as long as validation does not throw up problems.

Auger
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2011
Location: Out There
Posted: 14th Nov 2012 08:33
Got this off the CodeProject site:
Quote: "
linkedPIXEL wrote:
Just to be absolutely clear, as long as we submit the first version of our app on or before November 21st, it will be included in the competition even if Intel doesn't review it until a later date?

To be 100% clear, it will be included in the comp if it is approved and available on the AppStore before Dec 1, and since that can taks several days, we ask that you submit before Nov 21.

linkedPIXEL wrote:
What happens if we submit our app on November 21st, and Intel finds a bug or issue when reviewing it and rejects it?

Then it won't be approved and won't be available in the AppUp store.

Final judging starts Dec 1
cheers,
Chris Maunder

The Code Project | Co-founder
Microsoft C++ MVP
"


So it looks like if your apps is online by Dec 1 your okay

Auger
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 14th Nov 2012 16:36
It gives us about a week to fix reported errors.
But i havent heard from them yet?

day 3.

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 14th Nov 2012 22:23 Edited at: 14th Nov 2012 22:29
The Codeproject page says "43 AppUp Submissions Awards Remaining", still opportunities left!

Packaging, code signing and submitting may be tough, but it's a bigger barrier for a lot of the other competitors. We have Baxslash's guide, Mr_D's MSI Maker, and a whole lot more to simplify things.

Intel has published a "How To" video, it seems to be a huge barrier for lots of people. It looks like they dragged one of the experts out of his dark development room in to the light, put him in front of a camera and said "Show 'em how to do it!"

[EDIT] The code signing part goes like this (at 15 mins 24 sec)....

Quote: "Once you have signed your MSI you can upoload it"


That's it!



bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2012 23:19
I have used the MSI mini maker, seems to work fine.

So where is the complexity & the big catch?

doesn't signing just involve using the intel utility?

i am trying to evaluate here, and looking for the big black monster to jump out all of a sudden!
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2012 23:23
BatVink since you already have experience with the Appup store, if I want to make a paid app, do I still need to use the Intel SDK?

Some people said yes, some other said it's optional, other said you only need the sdk when making paid apps...
Matty H
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 14th Nov 2012 23:36
bjadams

I want to sell my app but due to the competition I am not using the SDK. I am out of time and don't want to complicate things, I might look at the SDK later, after the competition.

From what I understand, it just means my app will not be protected, I think it will be a very small proportion of people who would actually be bothered stealing the app to save 99p or whatever

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2012 23:45
Thanks Matty, I don't need any protection, just want to make sure that Intel won't reject the app because there is no SDK
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 14th Nov 2012 23:54
there is a box you tick on or off if you use the sdk when uploading it

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th Nov 2012 00:15
Thanks Cliff
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 15th Nov 2012 10:43 Edited at: 15th Nov 2012 10:44
The SDK - for AppGameKit and DBP users - is all about protection. It means you can only use it by having AppUp installed and being connected to the internet for verification.

Without it, your game could be picked up from the install folder and copied, unless you have other copy protection included.

My game is paid-for, but I don't want people to be tied to an internet connection, it may not always be available where they are using the App. I also intend to tighten up security in future versions, working on the theory that if it's worth pirating (I hope so!) then people may pay for the additional features in a future upgrade.

Quote: "i am trying to evaluate here, and looking for the big black monster to jump out all of a sudden!"


For Tier one, there is no big monster, it's just a very slow, trudging beast that takes time to execute.

Tier 2 should be the same, as the labour-intensive part starts after you have a working game.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th Nov 2012 15:22
Thanks Batvink.
I don't intend to apply any protection, too much of a hassle
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Nov 2012 16:34
Its even easier to do the appup file after mr ds latest update, as it include all the files that could be missing before and installs them

He posted about it in my thread about creating an appup file

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 15th Nov 2012 16:49
Quote: "It means you can only use it by having AppUp installed and being connected to the internet for verification."

Well, my basic philosophy makes me cringe when apps insist on internet connectivity, even if they don't do anything with the internet as part of the app. This means I won't be doing any publishing on AppUp. I wasn't much impressed with the app you have to install on your PC to use the AppUp store.

If I publish for Windows, I'll do it from my own site.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
JimHawkins
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 15th Nov 2012 20:04
AL - 100% with you on that!

-- Jim DO IT FASTER, EASIER AND BETTER WITH AppGameKit FOR PASCAL
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th Nov 2012 20:28
Cliff, the process is very straighforward now.

1. use mr d minimsi tool

2. use the intel signing tool

that's all! that's the way it should have always been
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Nov 2012 20:47
Quote: "Cliff, the process is very straighforward now.

1. use mr d minimsi tool

2. use the intel signing tool

that's all! that's the way it should have always been "

You sound like a guy like me

I dont like to hazzle but straight to the objective without to much fuzz

Thats why i started to poke in the process

Its easy for smart people like ancient lady and baxslash

But iam dumb and lazy

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-05 19:10:18
Your offset time is: 2024-05-05 19:10:18