Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

PureGDK / Is PureGDK still compatible with PureBasic? Is it compatible with PureBasic v5 ?

Author
Message
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 30th Nov 2012 21:33 Edited at: 30th Nov 2012 21:57
Looking at perhaps buying PureGDK...

[edit] and do I buy PureGDK, PureGDK Upgrade, or do I have to buy them both!?!?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Olby
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 14:29
Original PureGDK supports PureBasic v4.31 only (statically linked). You can get DarkGDK 2.0 (which is built on top of PureGDK and currently is at RC4) but it's developer has gone AWOL and future of the project is unclear.

Intel Core i7 Quad 2.3 Ghz, 8GB RAM, GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Windows 7 HP (x64), DirectX 11, PureBasic 5.00 (x86)
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 14:32
@ Olby,

Damn! So that means that I cant get DBPro working with latest version of PureBasic v5 (through PureBasic)?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Olby
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 14:41
Quote: "Damn! So that means that I cant get DBPro working with latest version of PureBasic v5 (through PureBasic)?"


You can but only if you get DarkGDK 2.0 it links dynamically with C/C++, PB and in the future Java and C# if the developer returns and finishes it off. If I were you I would sit back and wait, we haven't heard from him in a while (actually since August).

Intel Core i7 Quad 2.3 Ghz, 8GB RAM, GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Windows 7 HP (x64), DirectX 11, PureBasic 5.00 (x86)
Billy33
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2006
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 18:47
I upgraded PureBasic 4.60 this morning with last release v5.0
Compilations of my old projects using DarkGDK 2.0-RC4 with new PB v5.0 are realised without any problem
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 19:42
@ Billy33,

That's good to know. So I would need to purchase and download PureGDK and then DarkGDK 2.0-RC4 (but without the PureGDK upgrade download)?

One thing is I have already downloaded and tried to install DarkGDK 2.0-RC4 but it just does not install as an .exe - is this because I have not already downloaded and installed PureGDK?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Olby
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 21:15
You don't need PureGDK to use DarkGDK these are separate products. Just get the GDK 2.0 RC4 free version and see if it works.

Intel Core i7 Quad 2.3 Ghz, 8GB RAM, GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Windows 7 HP (x64), DirectX 11, PureBasic 5.00 (x86)
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 21:32 Edited at: 1st Dec 2012 22:02
When I download the GDK 2.0 RC4.exe and try and run it from desktop it just hangs (you can see the process but it's doing nothing) ie. it does not install from the desktop - do I need to run the install from a specific folder?

[edit]

Nope - tried everything - just times out as a dead process and does not install....

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Olby
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 22:11
Might be a dodgy download, I remember he had some issues with corrupt downloads (server cancelled download requests half way through).

Intel Core i7 Quad 2.3 Ghz, 8GB RAM, GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Windows 7 HP (x64), DirectX 11, PureBasic 5.00 (x86)
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 1st Dec 2012 22:13
Downloads fine. It's when I try and run the install exe it just does the blue revolving circle thang a few times and then just sits there...

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Billy33
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2006
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 2nd Dec 2012 11:58
@ Duffer,
I am registered user of PureGDK/DarkGDK, and i use commercial release DGDK v2.0-RC4 (DarkGDK commercial single-seat license). It's not the same .exe than beta RC4.
I remember that free releases from Mistrel were time limited..., so i supose you are in this case
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 2nd Dec 2012 12:19
@ Billy33,

Thanks for the reply.

Does that mean if I just bought the paid-for DarkGDK v2.0 from Mistrel's site, (and not PureGDK at all) then I could use DBPro stuff within PureBasic v.5? (I'm a bit nervous ordering stuff from Mistrel's site when he's 'not at home' - unless, I suppose, it's automatic?)

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Olby
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 2nd Dec 2012 14:33 Edited at: 2nd Dec 2012 14:34
Like I told you make sure the file size is around 93MB. I downloaded it and it runs just fine, although it says it has expired. So unless you buy the commercial license (which will never expire) you're out of luck for now.



Intel Core i7 Quad 2.3 Ghz, 8GB RAM, GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Windows 7 HP (x64), DirectX 11, PureBasic 5.00 (x86)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 2nd Dec 2012 15:30
@ Olby,

Don't get that message when I try and install the beta, don't get anything.

If I bought the full single license version from Mistral's site, would I then need PureGDK or would the purchase from Mistral's site be good on it's own (for, in part, use in v5 Purebasic)?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Olby
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 2nd Dec 2012 16:24 Edited at: 2nd Dec 2012 16:24
Quote: "If I bought the full single license version from Mistral's site, would I then need PureGDK or would the purchase from Mistral's site be good on it's own (for, in part, use in v5 Purebasic)?"


You only need DarkGDK (from Mistrel's website).

Intel Core i7 Quad 2.3 Ghz, 8GB RAM, GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Windows 7 HP (x64), DirectX 11, PureBasic 5.00 (x86)
Juggernaut
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Mar 2012
Location:
Posted: 7th Jan 2013 23:39
@Olby: Looks like you have given up hope too for Dark GDK 2.0's re-incarnation ....... there is no Dark GDK 2.0 banner any more in your signature.
Olby
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 02:55
Quote: "@Olby: Looks like you have given up hope too for Dark GDK 2.0's re-incarnation ....... there is no Dark GDK 2.0 banner any more in your signature. "


Well spotted In fact in recent years PureBasic has stepped up it's 3D support and now it has all the commands one needs to create a decent game. I will be looking into using PB's internal engine (it's based on OGRE and Bullet physics). I can't wait any longer for GDK 2.0 becoming a reality, unfortunately.

Intel Core i7 Quad 2.3 Ghz, 8GB RAM, GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Windows 7 HP (x64), DirectX 11, PureBasic 5.00 (x86)
Juggernaut
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Mar 2012
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 13:06
Any news of Dark Basic Elite ?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-09-20 01:23:40
Your offset time is: 2017-09-20 01:23:40