Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Do dummy sprites use video memory?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Dec 2012 06:02
I started playing with dummy sprites and found a good use for them but I need to understand how it impacts memory?

Does anyone know if dummy sprites take Video memory?

If not how does it operate and how much memory does it take ?

Thanks for any help / answers

Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Dec 2012 10:59
My experince is that it is the shapes that uses resources on dummy sprites.
In my platformer so did i use shapes for all the sprites first and got extreme impact on performance.
Then i optimized the use of shapes to under half an got an high performance boost.

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
erebusman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Dec 2012 23:10
Thanks Cliff that tip makes some sense.

Defining the shape would be the point where it takes screen realestate.

I'm trying to figure out if for instance a PNG with transparency is less memory use than a dummy sprite on top of a flat rendered background that has the image of a button on it?

AgentSam
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Dec 2012 02:26 Edited at: 9th Dec 2012 02:47
I remember Paul writing once, that as soon as you call LoadImage, the image will be loaded and stored in GPU memory.

While I couldn't locate that specific post anymore, I did find a few other relevant posts that Paul has made. So I'll quote him for reference, with my notes below the quotes: