Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / Recomended program to convert 2d charecters to 3d?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Dec 2012 10:37
Hello, Hope you all had a great Christmas.

I'm hoping to make a 3d character from this 2d character:

I have very little modeling knowledge. Only used sketchup for simple static images but have never animated 3d.

Anyway for my first step I would just like to convert that 2d into 3d then I could learn to animate it later.

I've head of so many 3d software out there and It gets so overwhelming.

I looked at 3ds max but seems to expensive and complicated anyway.
Blender is free but got very confused with the interface.

I really like the look of milkshape and or Anim8or. They both seem to have the kind of interface that I think I could get used to.

What would your recommendations be for this kind of modeling? milkshape, Anim8or or another similar program?

Thanks.

Ed.
Ross tra damus
3D Media Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Dec 2012 14:02
Quote: "They both seem to have the kind of interface that I think I could get used to."

You answered your own question.

Try both (trial versions available) and see which one you feel most comfortable using.
I use 'Milkshape' because the interface is easy to get to grips with and it does most of the things I need it to do but the modeling 'toolset' could be better and I prefer to use another program for UV mapping rather than Milkshape's 'Texture co-ordinate Editor'.
A very big advantage is that Milkshape has a 'huge' ammount of tutorials which can be found on the Net and is a 'very' in-expensive program to purchase.

At the end of the day its realy down to your own personal preference.