Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Process terminated with status -1073741819

Author
Message
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 29th Dec 2012 13:38
I'm getting this issue in the 1.08 beta 5. The code worked fine until I added the following (from what I remember) at the top of main.agc.



Now every time I run this project I get the above error, even when I remove the above code. :S

I don't get this error with a new project, nor do I get it with the sample code above in a new project, only with this current one. I've tried restarting AppGameKit, the laptop, editing the source in notepad++ the reopening in AppGameKit in case any unseen characters were sneaking their way in there, and nothing works.

WHY!!!!! WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!! lol

Any ideas? My source is only 918 lines across 7 source files.

I live for video games! (And beers, and football, and cars!)
See what I live for here: [url]http:\\www.TeamDefiant.co.uk[/url]
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 29th Dec 2012 14:01 Edited at: 29th Dec 2012 14:02
Doesn't matter, I've solved it.

It was caused by round brackets on an array used in lines 860 onwards!

What a very confusing and unhelpful thing to occur as a result of user error. Why didn't it give the 'arrays must use square brackets' error it usually provides??

Regardless, this issue is now resolved, and my stupidity is here for all to see, and more importantly, to learn from!

I live for video games! (And beers, and football, and cars!)
See what I live for here: [url]http:\\www.TeamDefiant.co.uk[/url]
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 29th Dec 2012 17:30
The error messages seem to be missing in the betas. I compile back in 1.076 when I get a weird error message to see what it is.

Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 29th Dec 2012 18:42
Cheers Batvink. I only have the beta on this machine currently. Just hope it gets made live soon so I can test my app on a mobile device! (I don't have a player for the beta and can't find a pre-made one on the forum. ) I had such bad slowdown with my old UI engine, that I'm re-making it from the ground up to be a lot faster and more efficient.

Efficiency is good! 22fps (and slowing) with only a UI on my Galaxy Note 2 LTE is appalling, if I say so myself!

I live for video games! (And beers, and football, and cars!)
See what I live for here: [url]http:\\www.TeamDefiant.co.uk[/url]
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 29th Dec 2012 22:27
I think Ancient Lady has a beta 5 Android player attached to a post somewhere, probably in the V108 commands thread.

MikeMax
AGK Academic Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2011
Location: Paris
Posted: 30th Dec 2012 22:43
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 31st Dec 2012 19:07
You are neither ancient, nor a lady, sorry
I got the right tread though. Thanks for the player

MikeMax
AGK Academic Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2011
Location: Paris
Posted: 1st Jan 2013 02:06
lol no problem
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 1st Jan 2013 14:37
Cheers! I'll get to using it right away.

I live for video games! (And beers, and football, and cars!)
See what I live for here: [url]http:\\www.TeamDefiant.co.uk[/url]
Jogimus
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2012
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2013 21:47
I get this error with simple code

---
SetDisplayAspect( 0.66 )
numbersImage = LoadImage ( "numbers.png" )
global numSprite0 = CreateSprite ( numbersImage )

do
Print("hello world")
Sync()
loop
---

key word "global" in that position seems to trigger it (1076)
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 13th Jan 2013 23:35
global numSprite0
numSprite0 = CreateSprite ( numbersImage )

You cant do it that way.

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
Jogimus
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2012
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2013 16:54
Oh well, swapping between programming languages do that Anyway, compiler should not "crash" in that situation,.. (yes, it really crashes the compiler) simple "syntax error in line xyz" message would be more proper so it is kind of bug then??
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 14th Jan 2013 17:19
Yup, a compiler error message would be good.

But you may have actually come up with the best example for the crash and it can be used for testing.

That particular error message has plagued AppGameKit for a long time. But reproducing it reliably was the problem.

Does Cliff's suggestion fix the problem?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Jogimus
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2012
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2013 18:51
Yes it did fix the problem.
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 15th Jan 2013 15:08
I read in the forum that it's only the beta which gives this error, when it makes production it will have proper error checking.

I live for video games! (And beers, and football, and cars!)
See what I live for here: [url]http:\\www.TeamDefiant.co.uk[/url]

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-04 02:50:16
Your offset time is: 2024-05-04 02:50:16