Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / [BlueGUI] Scrollbars

Author
Message
Sph!nx
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 29th Jan 2013 15:19 Edited at: 29th Jan 2013 15:20
BlueGUI shows some problems when using a scrollbar gadget in the main window (turned into a gadget). The program freezes when I try to set the sliders positions.


I've searched a bit and learned that when those commands are used, the loop enters a so called 'modal loop' and freezes the app.

I've tried to find some information on how to counter the effect but I had no success. I know it is possible I've seen apps use them (like mapscape). Any help is much appreciated!

Regards Sph!nx
www.mental-image.net
Humanoid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Finland
Posted: 29th Jan 2013 16:51 Edited at: 29th Jan 2013 16:55
i you try this yet

Patch:
http://forumfiles.thegamecreators.com/download/2367940

WIP:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=198156&b=8

i test scrollbar.. works fine.. not crashing or freeze.

Sph!nx
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 29th Jan 2013 17:57 Edited at: 29th Jan 2013 17:58
Thanks for your reply. I've updated to your version of BG but I still have the same problems.

Whenever I run this, my program freezes partially.

Specifically the last command (setscrollbarposition).

For some strange reason I can still move my camera but all other interface elements are non responsive (even the x button to close the window).

Regards Sph!nx
www.mental-image.net
Humanoid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Finland
Posted: 29th Jan 2013 18:50
works... why not your??



Sph!nx
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 29th Jan 2013 19:31 Edited at: 29th Jan 2013 19:34
Yes, your example works... hmmm, weird. I will try to figure out what's going on.

Edit: Moved the part of the code in my own app. and it works. Though, still going to figure out why, but my problem is solved.

Thanks Humanoid!

Regards Sph!nx
www.mental-image.net

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-20 00:20:14
Your offset time is: 2019-06-20 00:20:14