Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / [Tier 2] how do I represent a class object a a variable?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Feb 2013 07:17
Hello,

I have been teaching myself C/C++ for about 6 months and am writing my first class finally.

The question I'm stumbling on at the moment is I am going through a for loop and I want to check each class object as I go through the for loop.

So sample class creation here:

Okay so great created a class... now I create 2 objects

So in the instance above in my loop I have created two objects: 1, and 2 (if this is wrong please correct me)

Finally the crux of the question .. so now I want to go through another loop and check the value in the timer for each object.

I know I can do 1.timer 2.timer .. but I might actually have a hundred of these so I want to do it in a loop.

But when I do this I get an error from visual studio

The error is : Error: expression must have class type.

I have tried writing it other ways ... x.timer being the most obvious also does not work.

So .. any C++ coders out there have some clues for me how to approach this better?

Thank you in advance!

Hodgey
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Feb 2013 07:49 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2013 07:51
Quote: "Okay so great created a class... now I create 2 objects"

I'll admit, I've never seen code like that before. There is one problem with creating objects like that however, as soon as that for loop is finished, those objects are deleted (popped of the call stack).

A variable's lifespan is that of which the scope it's created - i.e between the two { } it's created in.

So doing something like this won't work: