Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Sonic Rings

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey guys,
Im kind of new to the whole scene but I have made a sonic clone for my college game programming unit. Its pretty good so far with the basics down (checkpoints, boss, multiple levels, animation, enemies etc).
But the thing I cant get my head around is how to add multiple rings. I can place them and collide to give you rings or whatever but is there an easier and tidier way than copy and pasting the same code over and over?
Thanks for reading
-A5H73Y

Howdy
BN2 Productions
Years of Service
User Offline
Quote: "easier and tidier way than copy and pasting the same code over and over?"

My suggestion would be a SpawnRing(x,y) function that will do all the code for creation (storing data in arrays and such for later retrieval as well as loading the images/sprites).

For positioning, if you don't want to position them by hand, it would probably be best to hide it in the level background image or something like that. It kinda depends on how you're doing it.

To prevent from having to load an image into things, you could hide a "Put a ring here" dot in the alpha channel of the game map. DBC can't do anything to display alpha channel data, but it is the 4th byte stored when you create a memblock from an image (Red, Green, Blue, Alpha). So if you were to load your level, then make a memblock from the level image, then scan through, spawning a ring at each point marked in the alpha channel, that should work.

Of course, there are other ways to do this, too. Depending on your method for creating your level, there are different tricks.

Hope this helps!

Great Quote: