Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / 32x32 pixel art blurry.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st May 2013 03:41
Hay guys, haven't posted in awhile but I've got an art question of sorts (I'm more of a programmer), so anyways I've been working on a new pixel art rpg intended for an eventual release on ios and android.

I want to use 32x32 pixel art, but honestly everything I've drawn at that size and thrown into my game looks blurry/fuzzy. I'm not really an artist and don't know the best virtual resolutions,zooms,or scaling to use but I want the game to have a pixel art feel to it but still have high enough resolution(look good on iphones/phones) that it doesn't look plain ugly like it now does-what's the best way(s) to go about achieving this.

Ps. I'm using 640,1136 virtual resolution which is the native resolution of iPod Touch and iPhone 5th generation. Thanks in advance!
xCept
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st May 2013 04:37 Edited at: 31st May 2013 04:38
Use SetImageMagFilter(iImageIndex, 0) and SetImageMinFilter(iImageIndex, 0) on the loaded texture(s) to keep the edges of sprites crisp regardless of scale. By default AppGameKit applies a linear antialiasing which causes the blurred edges.
Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st May 2013 10:13