Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Shift Matrix commands not working

Author
Message
Zotoaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 11th Jul 2013 18:18
Hey all, I'm trying to use the 'dbShiftMatrix' commands to simulate a never-ending landscape, but they don't seem to be working.. at all.

I'm basing this on the tank example from DBC:



My code is using the exact same logic, as shown here:



I'm simply getting the entire matrix moving along with the player, with no shifting. Funny thing is, if I remove the shift commands, I get the exact same results.

Does anyone know what's causing this? Anyone know an easy way to simulate the commands manually?

Thanks

"everyone forgets a semi-colon sometimes." - Phaelax
Zotoaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 16th Jul 2013 23:03
*bump*

Apologies for the double post but I still can't find a solution to this problem and it's put a halt to my project.

There doesn't seem to be many people around this board these days

"everyone forgets a semi-colon sometimes." - Phaelax
MrValentine
AGK Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 17th Jul 2013 01:32
I see 0 int and 0.0 float between the two code blocks from DBC and GDK... are you missing something there?

Zotoaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 17th Jul 2013 08:21
Nope that bit should work fine. I've put breakpoints inside all the if-statements and they do occur at the right times, but the actual shift commands don't seem to have any effect.

"everyone forgets a semi-colon sometimes." - Phaelax
WickedX
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2009
Location: A Mile High
Posted: 17th Jul 2013 20:22
One question, are you updating the matrix after shifting it?
Zotoaster
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 17th Jul 2013 21:20
I have tried putting an update statement in there but it still doesn't make any difference unfortunately.

"everyone forgets a semi-colon sometimes." - Phaelax
WickedX
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2009
Location: A Mile High
Posted: 17th Jul 2013 22:40 Edited at: 17th Jul 2013 22:42
Verified, the shift matrix functions do work. It must be something in your code, I’m not seeing.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-09-25 14:44:30
Your offset time is: 2018-09-25 14:44:30