Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Student with some questions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Jul 2013 08:06
Hello all,

I am currently a student at Argosy University and I am majoring in Information Technology, specifically for game development.

We just started and DarkBASIC Professional is the engine I decided to choose from. (We had a number of options). Anyways, as a first task I have to create a 2D game at the end of 5 weeks. I purchased the HODBPro vol1 & vol2 books and they are helping immensely!

Just wondering if anyone can help produce an idea. (Its part of the assignment to come to the forums, see whats popular, introduce myself, and get a feel for the community).
TheComet
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Jul 2013 17:24
Well, the only tip I can give you is: Don't underestimate. You may have this over-ambitious idea in your head (we all do), and I can tell you right off the bat: it's not realistically implementable.

Also note that the time in this parallel universe of programming runs about 8-9 times faster than real time, which means in reality you only have a little less than 4 days to make this game.

With that said, I recommend you note down a few veeery simple concepts. Things that are so stupidly easy, that you will be able to program them within a week. Here are some ideas to start with.

- Walk around on a terrain in first person view
- Generate a 2-dimensional maze
- Have a character jump and move around in third person view
- Program a space ship to move around in 2-dimensional space using the arrow keys (much like the classic game "Asteroids")