Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Tile Based Game for 1080p (Ouya)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2013 14:09 Edited at: 11th Aug 2013 14:23
So, I'm trying to target the Ouya for my next project, and here's the issue I'm facing design-wise:

I would like my game to look like a retro NES/SNES/Genesis style RPG. The tiles used in these games were small (8x8 or 8x16 or 16x16 in size, etc) and that I'm a functional basic artist when it comes to small resolutions. Because it's easy to do art when your canvas size is limited to 16x16 square.

However, designing for 1080p means I have 1920x1080 pixels on-screen to work with. Having tiles that are 8x8 would be dumb, and I'm guessing that I'd need 64x64 to cover the screen and have it be zoomed in enough for the player to not squint.

Now, design problem. Designing art at 64x64 means there's a lot more detail to involve. Tiles will take more size in memory (because they're at 64x64 resolution). However, I could also just design my maps using 16x16 tiles and then blow up the map at 400% scale during runtime.

What do you guys think? This is purely a theoretical design question. I'm leaning on just blowing everything up 400%, but I'd like some feedback first.

EDIT: I could also just use the Virtual Resolution function and let AppGameKit automatically blow up everything on-screen, but I heard that you need to program specifically at 1920x1080 for Ouya or the FPS goes to heck. What do you guys think? This could be another option as well, if I decide not to target Ouya (this app is designed to be used on a TV).

EDIT2: Or could I use VirtualResolution and set it to (854x480) and set the screen size in the setup.agc to 1920x1080?....