Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Using Text to display a string?

Author
Message
JamesWalker101
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2010
Location: England
Posted: 28th Aug 2013 21:51 Edited at: 28th Aug 2013 22:37
I am not really that much of a "newcomer", but I can't find, or figure this out.

I am trying to print a defined string,

And then use TEXT to display it.

The location works for my integers, using int$(money).
How do I display the string? Everything I try, it returns 0 where it is supposed to be.

Sorry for Noob question.


EDIT: Solved. I fixed it somehow. But if anyone Googles how to do this, put a dollar(string) sign($) after every time you declare or use it.
Eg.
stringa$="wazzup"
TEXT 0,0,stringa$
JamesWalker101
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2010
Location: England
Posted: 28th Aug 2013 22:32
From what I can gather, its just string1$
But that returns a blank.
Rudolpho
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posted: 28th Aug 2013 23:03
Yes, a normal variable name is by default initialized as an integer, a prefix of '#' denotes a float and '$' a string.
You can use variable names without prefixes by declaring them yourself like so:



"Why do programmers get Halloween and Christmas mixed up?"

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-04 06:02:12
Your offset time is: 2020-08-04 06:02:12