Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Problem building samples on VS2010

Author
Message
MobileCreator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa - Canada
Posted: 3rd Sep 2013 02:03
Hi

I'm trying to compile the samples with 1.08 beta 18 using VS 2010. All samples I've tried has given me this error:

LINK : fatal error LNK1123: failure during conversion to COFF: file invalid or corrupt

I've tried to change the lib files from the folder above the VS2010 but it gave me the same problem.

Is the VS2010 library files correct?

Thanks

----------
Paulo
http://c64programming.wordpress.com
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 3rd Sep 2013 05:36
For starters, you need to manually copy the Core.cpp file from IDE\apps\template_windows_2010 to whatever project you are trying to compile. Then edit it to replace '#include "template.h"' with '#include "main.h". And add the set of defines found in IDE\apps\template_windows_2010\template.h to the main.h fie.

None of the native projects in the deliveries are kept up to date with the core files for the actual delivery (a bit of an issue and it would be so easily fixed with a simple Perl script). The one in the current set of windows 2010 examples is dated 17-Aug-2011.

Then you might be able to get the project to compile and link.

Following those steps (which is how I worked out what was needed), I got the General - Core project to build.

And the template built pretty much as is.

The AGKWindows.lib library files in IDE\platform\windows\Lib\VS2010 look like this in my installation (checked with properties):
Debug - dated 20-Aug-2013 2:08PM, size 19,704,460 bytes
Release - dated 20-Aug-2013 2:09PM, size 15,466,848 bytes

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
MobileCreator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa - Canada
Posted: 3rd Sep 2013 06:43
Hi,

thanks for the answer. But the examples actually got compiled well. The link step that has failed. In any case, I tried to follow your instructions, but it didn't change the outcome.

Then I decided to try to change the project from debug to release. Doing so made it work, so I believe the Debug version of the library is somehow damaged or it was built with some other tool/configuration.

I also checked my libraries in IDE\platform\windows\Lib\VS2010 and they have the same size and date as yours, so I believe I have the right version.

Are you compiling the Debug or Release version?

Thanks again

----------
Paulo
http://c64programming.wordpress.com
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 3rd Sep 2013 16:07
Yes, I did both Debug and Release compiles.

Are you seeing this error in all projects?

Which ones have you tried? I'll try the same ones.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
MobileCreator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa - Canada
Posted: 3rd Sep 2013 17:09
Hi,

I've tried some of them. On top of my mind I can remember:

- Core
- Particles Emitter
- SpaceShotter game

All three were ok when setting to Release, and gave the same LINK error when setting to Debug.

Thanks again

----------
Paulo
http://c64programming.wordpress.com
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 3rd Sep 2013 17:48
I just was able to compile, link and run all those projects (the last two without making any of the fixes for the version specific files) in both Debug and Release.

The only thing I can suggest is to save any projects that you've created in your installation to some non-AGK directory. Uninstall AppGameKit v10818. Manually delete the installation directory to make sure that it is totally clean and reinstall again.

By any chance do you do your update installations directly on top of the old installations (reusing the directory without uninstalling the previous version)?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
MobileCreator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa - Canada
Posted: 3rd Sep 2013 18:15
"By any chance do you do your update installations directly on top of the old installations (reusing the directory without uninstalling the previous version)?"

Hm, that might be the case... I think I'd uninstall the previous version, but I'm not sure. I will do what you suggested tonight and see what is going on. But if you were able to compile it I can assume it is something on my environment.

Thanks

----------
Paulo
http://c64programming.wordpress.com
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 3rd Sep 2013 18:49
Good luck!

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
MobileCreator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa - Canada
Posted: 4th Sep 2013 01:48
Hi

so I'm trying it again. This time I've uninstalled AppGameKit, and even deleted the whole AppGameKit folder and redownloaded my AppGameKit 10818 from the website, but I still have the same problem: It works on Release, but it doesn't on Debug configuration.

This is my complete console output:

1>------ Rebuild All started: Project: 001 General - Core, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Build started 9/3/2013 6:46:00 PM.
1>InitializeBuildStatus:
1> Touching "C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\AGK\Projects\Native\Windows_VS2010\\Final\001 General - Core.unsuccessfulbuild".
1>ClCompile:
1> Main.cpp
1> Core.cpp
1> Generating Code...
1>LINK : fatal error LNK1123: failure during conversion to COFF: file invalid or corrupt
1>
1>Build FAILED.
1>
1>Time Elapsed 00:00:02.23
========== Rebuild All: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 skipped ==========

I wonder if there is a way to check the LIB file integrity...

Any thoughts?

Thanks

----------
Paulo
http://c64programming.wordpress.com
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 4th Sep 2013 03:32
Sounds like we need someone at TGC to look at this.

Are you using MS VS 2010 Express or the paid for version?

What version of Windows are you using?

(These questions might not help, but they just might.)

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
MobileCreator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa - Canada
Posted: 4th Sep 2013 04:18
Hi,

so I did some extra research and I found the possible cause. I installed another day the VS2012 trial and it seems it messes with the VS2010 installation even uninstalling it.

The workaround until I clean my computer properly is to turn off incremental linking option. Doing so make it work with Debug release just fine.

If someone has the same problem, here are the references I've found:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12267158/failure-during-conversion-to-coff-file-invalid-or-corrupt

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/vstudio/en-US/d10adba0-e082-494a-bb16-2bfc039faa80/vs2012-rc-installation-breaks-vs2010-c-projects

I noticed that I have some leftovers from VS2012 laying around, so I will delete them all, install VS2010 again and see what happens.

Thanks for your support!

----------
Paulo
http://c64programming.wordpress.com
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 4th Sep 2013 06:11
I am glad you found the cause and a solution (even if it is temporary).

I turn off incremental linking as a regular thing. I think it has caused me problems before.

Happy Programming!

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
MobileCreator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa - Canada
Posted: 4th Sep 2013 06:22
Hi

last update

I uninstalled VS2010 and everything else related to VS2012, reinstalled VS2010 and applied VS2010 SP1. After all that, I can compile the projects without any change! YEAAAAAAH!

Thanks again for you support

Cheers

----------
Paulo
http://c64programming.wordpress.com

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-09 08:38:12
Your offset time is: 2024-05-09 08:38:12