Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / New to AGK can it use arrays for co-ordinates for example ?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I have been using Darkbasic pro for many years and have down loaded the AppGameKit Trail version to try.

Can you use arrays in AppGameKit , as I want to create a race track and store the coordinates in arrays ?

How might I do this and is the basic language quite a bit different from DB pro ? Thx

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Sep 2013 18:55
The arrays in AppGameKit are very similar to DBPro, you just use [] square brackets instead of () ordinary parenthesis.

IE.

You can also use UDTs and multi-dimensional arrays just like DBPro

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler."
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Sep 2013 19:29
The only thing you can't do at the moment are the dynamic lists/arrays that DBP can do. That will be available in v2.

Mobiius
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Sep 2013 21:20
I think arrays in agk are better than in dbpro. I don't use lists so don't need those commands.

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Sep 2013 23:06
You can use dynamic arrays in AGK. Just resize the array as you need to, I always start my arrays:

...and when I need to make it bigger I just re-dim to make it bigger. Unless you're doing it hundreds of times per frame it's plenty quick enough too.

Zwarteziel
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Sep 2013 00:25
Quote: "You can use dynamic arrays in AGK. Just resize the array as you need to"