Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / [3D Modeling Software] Art of Illusion

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Sep 2013 17:20
Hi,
I am basically focused on 2D games (only 1 3D games made in DBPro, a Q*Bert clone), but with AGKv1 (and AGKv2), I would like to explore the 3D world. So I am new to 3D. I see that some of you are very advanced.
I have discovered a free software called Art of Illusion, that is capable to import/export .obj files. Has anyone had some experience in creating 3D models with this sw and using them with AppGameKit? Pls let me know, so in case I do not waste time. I see that .x formats are not supported, but this could be an issue for AGKv2.
I know that Milkshape is a good sofware, but it is not free. Blender is too much difficult.
mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Sep 2013 17:52
I ran into that program a number of years ago, but didn't really try it out or kept up to date with it at all so cannot comment on how it stacks up to other such software.

for gamemaking, I believe that MilkShape3D is the de-facto standard (but as you have stated, it's not free - but quite cheap for what you get). The upcoming free software being used more and more is blender, but as you also said, it can be quite hard for beginners (or more correctly, it has a steep learning curve) - this will in my opinion become the new standard in the not too distant future - if it's not now.

The next best free beginners 3d software as I have heard is Wings3D.
It does most things needed for simple to intermediate modelling, but it doesn't have any animation functionality at all. Even so, this may be your best choice to go with.