Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Problems with A* Path Finding

Author
Message
Ched80
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 27th Oct 2013 11:41
Hi all,

I've been trying to add some A* path finding to my game, but I just can't seem to get my code to play fair with me.

I'm using Tier 1 with v108B19.

The problem I'm seeing is that when it is searching for the next target square with the lowest F value on the open list is only ever finds x=2 and y=2 - even though the array value for this square is open=0!!

Any help with this would be wonderful.

Here's my code:



Ched80
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 27th Oct 2013 12:16
Okay this is really weird.

I added some debugging bits to try and find out why my code won't work.

So I have a small loop that resets my Path array to zero like so:

Quote: "//reset old AI Path & fill H values
for tempx=2 to areamaxx
for tempy=2 to areamaxy
AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].Closed = 0
AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].Fval = 0
AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].Gval = 0
AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].Hval = 10 * trunc(abs(tempx-targetx)+abs(tempy-targety))
AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].Open = 0
AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].ParentX = 0
AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].ParentY = 0

repeat
print("Next Target X:"+str(tempx)+", Y:"+str(tempy)+", Open:"+str(AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].Open)+", Lowest F:"+str(AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].FVal))
sync()
until getrawkeyreleased(13)=1
next tempy
next tempx
//reset complete"


You can see I added in a break so that I could check that te .Open part of the array was set to zero.

Then I change ONE value in the array

Quote: "//add starting position to open list
AIPath[PlayerID,startx,starty].Open = 1

repeat
print("Next Target X:"+str(startx)+", Y:"+str(starty)+", Open:"+str(AIPath[PlayerID,startx,starty].Open)+", Lowest F:"+str(AIPath[PlayerID,startx,starty].FVal))
sync()
until getrawkeyreleased(13)=1"


As you can see I added another break to confirm the element had changed to .Open=1

I then checked to see which element in the array had actually changed:

Quote: "for tempx=2 to areamaxx
for tempy=2 to areamaxy
if AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].Open>0
repeat
print("ERROR X:"+str(tempx)+", Y:"+str(tempy)+", Open:"+str(AIPath[PlayerID,tempx,tempy].Open))
sync()
until getrawkeyreleased(13)=1
endif
next tempy
next tempx"


To my suprise every .Open element in the array had changed to .Open=1 !!!!!

Is this a known bug in 109? Why would setting element make them all change?

I don't have problems with my other UDTs in the game, only this one.

Here's the full sequence:



Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 27th Oct 2013 16:51
There used to be problems using UDTs in arrays, especially multi-dimensioned ones. The work around was to copy the UDT element to a variable of the same UDT type. Then do any manipulations with the variable and copy it back into the UDT array when done. Awkward, but it worked.

Can you try that and see if it works? Just for the line where you set one of the entry's .Open value to 1. If that 'fixes' the issue, than TGC might have a clue as to where to look for the problem.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Ched80
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 10:38
Sorry AL - no joy.

I replaced this:



with this:



and got the same result

The Zoq2
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 11:03
Try doing it without a type and just use a regular integer as temporary variable...

Say ONE stupid thing and it ends up as a forum signature forever. - Neuro Fuzzy
Ched80
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 11:41
Just tried that Zoq2 - same effect - all .Open values change to 1.

The Zoq2
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 11:53
Quote: " all .Open values change to 1."


If I recall correctly, the issue with multidimentional arrays of types only set the values to 0 and nothing else, but that was a year ago and something might have changed...

Say ONE stupid thing and it ends up as a forum signature forever. - Neuro Fuzzy
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 14:43
What I meant was something more along these lines:


You copy the entire UDT entry and then replace the entire UDT entry. What this is trying to avoid is making the AppGameKit engine figure out where the specific UDT element is in memory.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Ched80
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 16:28
Ah - sorry AL I should have paid more attention

Anyway - same results with that technique too.

Is it worth me posting this in the v108 thread and the google code board?

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 17:05
Ched80, I am 20% into cloning my main Windows work drive (a backup long overdue). When I get back to working mode, I will see if I can duplicate the issue you are seeing. Then we can post it to the Google issue board.

Can you please show me the structure of the UDT you are using?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 17:28
I don't know about your existing code, but have you looked at this thread? I already have an A* library ready for AGK.
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=206280&b=41

Download the library here.
http://www.zimnox.com/resources/agk/libraries/

Ched80
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 18:52
Cheers AL,

The UDT is defined as

type PathType
Closed as integer
Fval as integer
Gval as integer
Hval as integer
Open as integer
ParentX as integer
ParentY as integer
endtype


Phaelax, I did see that thread and I was using it as reference, but I wanted to generate my own A* pathfindnig routing - as I had to take into acount the effect of poisoned routes. Also I just liked the challenge of making the routine myself

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 28th Oct 2013 19:20
I should be able to test something tomorrow. Thank you.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-20 06:13:13
Your offset time is: 2024-05-20 06:13:13