Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit/AppGameKit Studio Showcase / Insel Simulator - AGK 3d Engine

Author
Message
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 26th Nov 2014 19:16
Doors are cool! and your door is cool! Let's not forget that your door can also be used as a lid.

SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 27th Nov 2014 04:21
if your porting it over to agk v2.....you will most likely find some errors.... but just go threw them one at a time untill it compiles.

i did this with my hockey game and i think i had 30 some odd errors but some how compiled on the original v1 compiler.

its amazing how much better the new compiler is for agk 2 and i recommend getting it!

Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 29th Nov 2014 14:37
Quote: "its amazing how much better the new compiler is for agk 2 and i recommend getting it!"


I got AGKV2 over steam now I have unlimited errors in the code, but It looks very logical, so the portation shouldn't be a problem

First I manage to fix all bugs in the current version, they I'll port it to V2.

Damn, the .APK compiler in V2 is very nice! This one could save me a lot of time!


Currently I have a logical problem. I want to make infinite maps, but the water stops me. It doesn't move with the camera like the sky, because it would look weird. But if it doesn't move with the camera, the player can swim outside the water surface in the void.

In DBPro there was no problem with that, I used shader based water and could move infinite, because the water-plain moved along with the camera and the shader gave an good looking UV scroll.

My first thought on this problem was a water-tile engine, but this would increase the polycount in the scene. Any better solutions on this one?


[/url]
swissolo
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 30th Nov 2014 05:48
Quote: "My first thought on this problem was a water-tile engine, but this would increase the polycount in the scene. Any better solutions on this one?"

Every given # of units jump the water a large degree that keeps the texture constant. Essentially, whenever the user nears a comfortable edge of water visibility, move the water into the distance some multiple of the texture size

Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 2nd Dec 2014 14:00 Edited at: 2nd Dec 2014 14:32
Quote: "Every given # of units jump the water a large degree that keeps the texture constant. Essentially, whenever the user nears a comfortable edge of water visibility, move the water into the distance some multiple of the texture size"


I'll build an experiment based on this idea


Current Changes:

Finally get the 255 extended chars working to display the languages right [Done]
(I'am even able to add russian/japanese language into the engine now )

Video function bound in engine [Done]
(Now it is possible to add .mp4 videos at the beginning/end of the map and even a map trigger can now play a video, for example, I build an old television on the map devilscamp, if you go to the television and press the action butten, you see a video with white noise. This can help to build up a video based story lines into games written in this engine.)


[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 2nd Dec 2014 18:45
@Jack

when i updated the latest version

i see the part about touching the screen
well no problem to report there .. i do and it dose not crash


in the beginning menu

no text is shown
any ware beyond the warning message

in the first Scenario there is this odd circle that appears in the sky

i have there is image you can look at

i like the rain feature in the 3d Scenario

i know i have the most maxed out phone so i will encounter
far less problems than any one else

anther option would be swim under the water with air bubbles
but know that could be a bit soon

also in #3 the ship moving to the wave action

i know it's going to be a bit before the graphics can go
from say duke nukem 3d to what the latest high end graphics can do

very good work ;o)

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 2nd Dec 2014 19:31
@Jack

i see the fix was dun on the sky ;o)

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 2nd Dec 2014 21:14
Thank you for the intense review, Resourceful
As you have noticed, I've already updated the play store apk.
Do you see the text in the menu now?

Quote: "i like the rain feature in the 3d Scenario"

Thank you!
I have released the simple particle code. (AGK Tier1)
You can get the source for this particle system here:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=210819&b=41


[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 2nd Dec 2014 23:12
@Jack

i tried to run it but i get an error with the "inc" command
in AppGameKit 2 but works fine in AppGameKit 1

they have made commands to deal with particle in AppGameKit 2

and they have made a lot of changes between AppGameKit 1 and AppGameKit 2

even setting up to make a just load in the main file there has been
changes too

so if you ever movie over to AppGameKit 2 your going to have to
do quite a bit of rebuilding

this should cut down some of the code
but you got a lot of work to make it happen

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 4th Dec 2014 01:17
@Jack

i took a guess but i got the rain to work in AppGameKit 2

it seems that it needs the am and rainc to be
set a global integer to work

I've attached the update did

5 years ago i would not have figured it out so quickly
now it was about 4 minutes to get the answer

now if i can only figure how to AppGameKit 2 to make apk files again
some program i put in recently ruined that idea ;oP

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 4th Dec 2014 21:31 Edited at: 6th Dec 2014 01:34
Good Work Resourceful!
This looks like a good portation to AGK2
Anyway, this code is just a basic particle system, there is still a lot of work to do to get it to the final state.



Winter Update:

* Infinite Water added
* 255 Chars for fontmaps added
* Controls for PC Input added (now its finally easy playable on pc)
* screentext entity added - to display screentexts


Map will arrive soon (EDIT: Arrived )







[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Dec 2014 20:04
@jack


we all have a lot of work to do ;o)

i just relised that AppGameKit 1 or 2
is basicly an enhaced version of Darkbasic the dos mode one

the big differnce what we make for the computer can be deployed on android devices ;o)

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 8th Dec 2014 22:17 Edited at: 10th Dec 2014 18:12
Quote: "we all have a lot of work to do"


you are so right

Quote: "the big differnce what we make for the computer can be deployed on android devices ;o)"

Yes this is the best advantage. I love the multiplatform developing.




Here is a new screenshot of the dialogue and text system in the engine:


All this textboxes are managed through the entity system and defined in the map and the dialogues file.



Now it is possible to add dialogues to the maps
It behaves kinda like this:


[Language file]-->[Core Process]<--[Dialogues]
[Map Definition]---------^


The dialogues can also trigger an event like, open a door or bridge. They can even give items to the player.
The limit is 128 dialogues per level. I think this should be enough to build up decent story lines





What I do miss is a level change entity. To be able to change the map when running into a hitzone and keeping the Inventory. This can help to create tunnel based map scenarios





[/url]
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 12th Dec 2014 14:39 Edited at: 12th Dec 2014 15:48
I have updated the dialogues functions and added some new entites to set some screen effects Its now possible to trigger a screen_overlay entity what can add a screen sized sprite overlay. The other function of this entity is to set a custom fade color.




* New model rig


Screen overlay with setcolor 10,0,0,100

This is how an example map file looks like:


Currently, the map files are in a good readable format. If the loading or saving of information will take to much time, I`ll switch. The editor is able to place plants and models, but no entities right now.

What I have to add:
- Create a moving camera with a moving target
- Waypoints for bots/camera/target

- New awesome maps with a lot of dialogues and quests


[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 12th Dec 2014 21:05
@Jack

every thing works perfectly ;O)

even using the building part will take me some getting use to
since i have only used a level building in the computer

i final got an idea for a game

getting use the the text for each commands is
a bit of change form DBP

i just wanted to load up a item for it
that went fine but the next ware was getting it to show up
so far no luck on that .. i guess i have to look though the examples

and see if i can find a simple example

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 18th Dec 2014 03:51 Edited at: 19th Dec 2014 16:55
Thank you for the beta testing, Resourceful
If you have any questions relating your projects, feel free to ask
The AppGameKit Syntax is nearly the same and should be no problem to move from DBP. It took me about 2 months to migrate from DBP to AppGameKit, still there are some problems like GLSL shaders that work quite different than the .fx shaders in DBP.


Currently Iam rewriting my shaders to add a directional light to all of them. I hope to add some simple lighting to the code.
Currently there are two problems:

- the generated terrain has no normal maps - (Any solution?)

This is one of the main problems. The terrain will not have the right lighting unless I manage to recalculate the normals inside the .obj file

EDIT: I found this:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=212837&b=41
Even softmotion has not found a solution for that :S
I will check the ressources given in this thread and try something
out.


- The shaders don\'t add the directional lights. (Nearly done)
- Watershader [Done]
- Detailshader [Done]
- Normalshader [Done]




This is the current version with lighting. The terrain is not affected by the lighting at this moment

EDIT:
Now it is possible to organize the inventory object by moving them to other slots


[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 18th Dec 2014 19:09
@jack

at this point my skill level is very limited
I've been looking at DBP and db code for nearly 14 years it's
only in the last 2 1/2 years i have started to understand peaces

i have an idea for a project but i can't even get my object
to show up yet .. i know it's some thing simple that i missing
to get the item to show up

it's just to bad ever time i look at it gives me headache
i have to take a few hours break until i take anther shot at
giving it a kick

have you looked at this example in

c:\Program Files (x86)\The Game Creators\AGK2\Projects\Shaders\Bloom ?

it's the only one that seems to deal with that aspect

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 20th Dec 2014 18:16
it seems that AppGameKit 2 or even just plain any agk is picky about
the requirements to display 3d objects

after poking around the help menu i finally found an example that loads
and displays the object i want

now i have to do a bit of back tracking and add in what i thing should be there then i can proceed forward

@jack

i guess it must have taken you a bit to get what you have ?

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 3rd Jan 2015 03:53 Edited at: 3rd Jan 2015 03:58
Happy new Year!


Yes Resourceful, it took me a while to write the core engine and
it is not even nearly finished. I think I will spend even more time
to get it finished with all planned features. And currently I`m stuck
with the glsl shadow mapping.



Thank you for the tip with the bloom shader. I have not checked the bloom shader example.
I will try this out and combile the bloom example with some sort of
editor


Currently I'am working on a Tier1 text editor to edit map files from hand on the handheld device And on this way, I will manage to get
some nice glsl stuff working properly and maybe create a android based
glsl editor and compiler.

I think I will release the Tier1 code for AppGameKit in the thread. This texteditor is quite useful for a lot of projects. It can even be used
as a output console with scrollbars.

There are still some limitations with the editbox input, but I try to
get it to work properly.


[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 3rd Jan 2015 23:30 Edited at: 5th Jan 2015 18:15
@Jack

i hope the water in your example some day looks closer to what DBP can do

it would rile enhance what you have dun so far

the big problem with AppGameKit 1 or 2 or what ever comes next
it's still in it's infancy stage and until even the android phone tec gets quicker it's going to be the hole pre slow computers days
if you do not have the right tec you can't use it or it operates
too slow

well i have AppGameKit 2
so if you need some thing changed over i can do that
i am very slowly understanding how to put things together
the one 3d example that comes with either 1 or 2
did not rile help me

after poking around the help files
i had one i wanted to do but it was not put in to me to use right away
after some more poking around i found anther example i could work with

I've got and idea of my own i am currently working on and more
i would like to do

one of my idea's using AppGameKit will let me link the pc and the android
together so people can play on either one or both and they can
go back and forth in playing it with out having to start a new


one thing i have figured out is smaller versions of the same command in my code examples this is what i plan
this will help me build my games faster and i can reuse
the commands for every game i do



at least now i understand more than i did but there
are still a few tiny peaces of coding i have to get
use to using more

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 16:26 Edited at: 8th Jan 2015 16:34
Its a nice idea to shorten the functions

I found out, that the easiest way of loading multiple objects is to preload and instance them.

For example, you write a routine that will load all models and textures from a specific directory and register them into an array.
After that, it is easier to instance an object. This system can help you to save loading time when you have a lot of the same objects in the scene.

Another great idea is to combine multiple functions, like if you load a 3d model, you may also decide about the object collision mode or the alpha transparency. This will only cost some chars and
you can build up your own specific loading routine.




Here is some code from the insel simulator for the media loading.
You can also use this system for other media. I used this code to load up all media. This was useful aslong there where rarely 3d models. Now the 3d model register will be filled with one new entry, once an object function is called, and the object is not available in the register.


I will give you some example code, I just copied this out, and you need some .obj models and .png textures to test this out.
This will load all media (.obj , .png) in the folder "media/models"






and then it is possible to load up an object like this:




[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 17:55
@Jack

my main idea for shorting the functions is not so much for loading up a level but was on the considering list, it was so i could change thing's in the game as needed

i know there has to be a load world setup as you just pointed out
and thanks for the code i will go though it and try to understand it

my first game is random change the object position in the game
so what i got will do the trick not to say i can't use the code
in some of the other games i got planed

I've revised my list on command i can see using for this first
project , the the quicker i can build a level the better or should
it be said the quicker i can get the peaces loaded up then the
world can be built

i know the longer the level takes to load up the the more annoyed i get

There were games like on the ps1 and ps2 that had long load times
and i know that will have people not want to play what i got

after nearly 14 years of looking at DB and DBP code this is
the closest i have been to getting thing dun

one thing i found out that if the folder for objects has a folder
AGK 2 will not load it and the same for images

i can understand why they set it up that way but since
i like to keep items peaces separate to which peaces i need to add and update if needed

i hope there is not any more things AppGameKit has
that will slow down what got in mind

have you had any feed back on people using less powerful phone's ?
i look forward to your next update

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 21:01 Edited at: 8th Jan 2015 21:04
@jack

a in game level building is good
but considering we are talking about Android devices ..
well i am apple and bb i got no intention of wasting time on lesser equipment

it's will have to be limited to placing objects or even loading
in different land masses

building a Scenario could be dun but will need to be dun a bit
differently from the pc version

I bought http://www.everbuying.com/product672659.html a Bluetooth keyboard and it has a mouse pad on it so creating levels on that will be easier than with controls on the phone

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 12th Jan 2015 01:33
@Jack

check out " [AGKv2] 2D Normalmapping"

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=212611&b=48

i just found the link

it looks helpful

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 12th Jan 2015 23:46
Thank you Resourceful for the link. I will try to build the shader into the engine, if its possible.

Meanwhile, a healthbar is added, to eat stuff.


[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 1st Feb 2015 23:29 Edited at: 3rd Feb 2015 22:17
@Jack

I found some more code

Particles

3D Particle example (just for fun)

3D Particle example (just for fun)

i had to play around with the file that loads the two files into the
editor but i got it going

I have attached the AppGameKit 2 version

this will improve the look of the water fountains

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 3rd Feb 2015 22:21
@Jack

i finally got around to checking out the editing part of your program

the right y poison button
object section button i can't use

would it be option to be able to move the edit controls window
farther to the left or have it so the user
can move it to ware they can use it ?

every thing runs fine at maxed out speed on the phone i got

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 25th Feb 2015 23:35
@Jack

after nearly years and the last few months
i have made progress in understand of how to build a game

i can now load an object agk 2
and i have broken down things as in the function to do things
are in separate file

even the other parts to what i have mine are in there own file

some of the commands i found were much longer than they should be
and some commands were in peaces when they should have been just a simple short text

i still have a few more things to figure out but i hope to have things finished with a month or two or 3

I know that some one wrote a book for AppGameKit but considering
AGK is still being worked on i think it would be best not to bother getting it

at a later date i will release the function file so others can
use it and speed up making what they want

the other thing that AppGameKit is a level creation program
right now there is only a converter for "FPSC"

what you started in your game / program is a good start
i think there needs to be one for in the game and for the pc
to speed up creating a level

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 18th Apr 2015 21:39
@jack

i was wondering how things were going since it been
a bit since your last post ?

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 31st Jul 2015 22:26 Edited at: 31st Jul 2015 22:28
Hello Resourceful,

sorry for the long time. I had to work on some motion designs for
an amusement park and a projection mapping for an event.

Miniwah ride projection mapping:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h952Ho7UBOs

Basel Tatoo 2015 projection mapping (example):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wuV39t0xQAU

This work took much effort and time, so I had no time left.




But the progress is going pretty good! I had some implementations, that I finished the last days. Here is a new screenshot (no new demo available for now)




The lifebars are working perfectly now. There are some designs to choose. Lifebars could be added inside a level file, or through a general script, that runs before all maps. This should be great for creating mods.

I have also added a Inventory submenu. Now it is possible to drop items or even consume them. There is still a problem here. Items where once just graphics and where loaded, once a "inv_xxx.png" existed in the sprites folder. Now each item needs a 3d model for the drop representation. I have to change that to an item database first. After that, I add a craft database, so the items could be crafted to something new. For example
ax + wood = ax + firewood
fish + bread = fishbread
and so on...

Once Thirst and Hunger are at minimum, the Health starts to drain.
If the Health hits 0, you will die now. So there is actually an mortality in this game New updates will follow soon

cheers, Jack


[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 5th Aug 2015 03:25
@Jack

I understand how other things have more of a pressing need ;o)

looks good on your other project's ;o)

i wish coding did not give me such a headache but with the work i do
ever time i get the time to look at what i am working on i can only
stare at the code and go cross eyes lol

Im glad you are continuing to work on this

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 13th Sep 2015 23:40
Thank you for the patience Resourceful.

I have updated the new features to the current android release.
There are also less bugs in that, so I think there is not much left to do. I am going to update the developer tools and try to build as much levels as I can.
Check it out: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.onlinearts.island_simulator2014


[/url]
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 14th Sep 2015 00:36
@Jack

i know it all takes time time to understand

on my own project i know i have a few things to figure out

i will update and check it out

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 11th Oct 2015 21:40
@jack

it seems with the change TGC made to there site
one being a much bigger edit box so i can properly lay out what i want to say ;o)

i know it was a bit when you post the update on google
i have had a chance to try it out

the adding of food and water did not want to work at first but they are working now
the one ware there was a lot to collect gave me a bit of trouble as in taking time to find what was needed
but every thing works fine

just like any other game ware resources are needed to keep going it takes planing on finding them

i hope Agk 2 keeps improving to the same level DBP dose so it will make the game we do much better looking
right now they are say just a bit better than Duke nukem 3d was
to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-14 02:45:36
Your offset time is: 2019-10-14 02:45:36