Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Zbrush Performance?

Author
Message
Quik
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2008
Location: Equestria!
Posted: 5th May 2014 23:23
I have a Intel Core i5-2400 CPU @ 3,10 ghz (quadcore)
8gb ram and a GPU @ 2GB (model name: Radeon R9 200 series)
and using Zbrush at 20milion polies seem to make is quite sluggish, quite a lot actually, almost impossible to sculpt at that, not to mention polypaint etc.
Any clue why that might be? and, what hardware would be recommended to upgrade if I'd like the performance to improve?

also running Win7 64bit

might also ask: Would a SSD drive improve the performance?



Whose eyes are those eyes?
Barry Pythagoras
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Mar 2014
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2014 00:52 Edited at: 6th May 2014 00:56
I don't really use many polygons, I divide up to 5 times, but use the lowest model in the end. But what I have read is that memory is very important. I suppose I never try to get to 20 million polygons anyway.
Ortu
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posted: 6th May 2014 05:29 Edited at: 6th May 2014 05:32
Ram will be the biggest factor followed by GPU, but your specs are pretty good and think most anything will struggle at 20mil. I believe that separating it into subtools will help, as will masking off and hiding areas not actively being worked on.

You may need to take a second look and see if you really need that many poly to begin with. You may be able to optimize the edge flow and loop density in the lower divisions to maintain the level of detail where you need it while cutting wasteful polies where you don't. Dynamesh can help with this as well.

Quik
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2008
Location: Equestria!
Posted: 6th May 2014 08:58
problem with dynamesh is that it triangulates the mesh, not to mention it has to be used fairy early on as it lowers the polycount
but i'm pretty sure it's unoptimised - i use zspheres



Whose eyes are those eyes?
CyberGamer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th May 2012
Location:
Posted: 20th Jun 2014 19:12
unfortunately Zbrush is still only a 32bit application.

Amd Quad Core FX-4100 3.6MHz,GTX550Ti 1GB GDDR5,8GB DDR3
Windows 8.1 Pro
Alucard94
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jul 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden.
Posted: 15th Oct 2014 23:56
Yeah, it's 32 bit and because of that is only able to use 4 gigs of RAM. I think 4R7 is coming out being 64 though, so that'll be rad.

Hello, I am Seb.
Tutorial YT Channel
friv4
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jan 2015
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2015 12:02
I think it 32 bit- ok!

friv4
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jan 2015
Location:
Posted: 15th Jan 2015 12:03
I believe that separating it into subtools will help, as will masking off and hiding areas not actively being worked on.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-04-28 11:06:42
Your offset time is: 2017-04-28 11:06:42