Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
aerostudios
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2009
Location: Oklahoma City OK (USA)
Posted: 23rd Jun 2014 20:59
Is there a maximum speed that you can use with dark AI? I am trying to simulate the movement of aircraft objects. Once i set a speed assignment greater than say about 2.0, there doesn't seem to be any increase. This is very problematic in trying to make aircraft appear to move at a believable rate. They are just creeping along very slowly. I even scaled my scene to half its size to help give the appearance of a greater speed. Its not making any difference. Also, I tried using "AI Update Timediff". TimeDiff is calculated from the Timer() value to the last timer value I save as a global variable. It too, has not impact on performance. Any ideas would be appreciated. The problem is impacting my project, TOWER CAB.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 10th Jul 2014 01:49
Are you not multiplying the values? no code but just a wild guess... or more something I would have tried...

aerostudios
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2009
Location: Oklahoma City OK (USA)
Posted: 10th Jul 2014 14:25
Thanks for your inquiry MrValentine. What I ended up doing was having to scale my scenery/models to about 1/4 of their size. Now I am able to issue speed values that work. I take the aircraft speed /100 so that range is 0 - 2.5; say (0 - 250 knots). My 3d models were just too big.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: Playing
Posted: 10th Jul 2014 14:34
Thanks for the reply

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-11-15 20:59:32
Your offset time is: 2018-11-15 20:59:32