Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Windows / Why doesn't my function work?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am relatively new to programming, and thought i was doing good until i tried to create a function and now i am getting an error. I feel like it may have something to do with variable scope, but I am not totally sure. I am sure a seasoned coder will be able to spot my mistake quickly so I am asking for a little help on why i am getting a "sprite does not exist" error.

P43GHz,1GBRAM,Geforce 7300gs,WindozeXPhomesp2
Lucas Tiridath
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Jul 2014 10:47 Edited at: 11th Jul 2014 10:48
The problem is to do with the way you are initialising your globals. For whatever reason (I don't know if this is a bug or a deliberate part of the semantics, or whether it will change in V2), you can only initialise your globals with literal values. This means that your initialisation of sGlobalWelcome$ works, because you are initialising with a string literal, but your initialisation of iball and ball fail because you are calling functions which will be executed at runtime. This means that at the moment, your LoadImage and CreateSprite calls are completely ignored, and iball and ball are default initialised to 0, meaning that when you try to use them in the SetSpritePosition function, you get a sprite 0 does not exist error. Therefore if you change the code to the following, it should work for you.

Also I think it's worth pointing out that you don't need semi-colons in AppGameKit BASIC. I hope that helps!

EDIT: Woah sorry, just noticed how late this response is. Yeah generally it's best to post in the main AppGameKit board as it is more active than this one.

Ancient Lady
Valued Member