Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Offset limb - strange warning

Author
Message
mr Handy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Sep 2007
Location: out of TGC
Posted: 7th Aug 2014 01:57
Hi guys, maybe I am too paranoid, but why it is told

OFFSET LIMB

Quote: "Specifying a limb number of zero provides access to the objects own root data, and should not normally be used in this way."


I want to make offset to reduce +variables while positioning objects.

All your TGC are belong to us.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 7th Aug 2014 02:58
From my experience Limb 0 is the entire model core Limb, consider it the top of the tree [or base?]

If your objects are joined to a core limb then just specify LIMB 1 Limb 2 etc.

I suppose if you joined one object to another to create an object, object 1 would become the root?

I will be experimenting with this eventually...

WickedX
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2009
Location: A Mile High
Posted: 7th Aug 2014 03:12 Edited at: 7th Aug 2014 03:13
I’m sure you’re aware of how offsetting the root limb will affect the objects rotation. This can be useful for making such things as doors or by setting the offset past the object dimensions you can make the object orbit just by rotating it. As long as you are aware how the objects rotation and all children and siblings will be affected you’ll be fine.



mr Handy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Sep 2007
Location: out of TGC
Posted: 7th Aug 2014 12:32
Oh thanks guys, I thought it may break or crash my program

All your TGC are belong to us.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-30 20:11:00
Your offset time is: 2020-09-30 20:11:00