Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / AGK: Serial # Verification using Multiplayer Commands

Author
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Sep 2014 15:55 Edited at: 15th Sep 2014 15:55
My AppGameKit game, Approaching Infinity, is about to come out, and I have been theorizing about "copy protection", using the multiplayer commands.

The problem is, I have no experience with agk multiplayer, and I only have 1 computer (can't test).

Here is my "idea":
=================================================================
- each copy of the game gets a "serial number". any serial # would work with any copy of the game, but we need a way to tie each one to a specific instance. so:
- the first time you run it, you need to 'connect to server for verification'.
- player types in the serial # they were given.
- the game collects some information behind the scenes to identify that computer
- the game sends serial # & info to "host"
- host returns a 'verification code', which game saves in a file, and never asks again, as long as file exists & information is correct
- host also stores the serial #, along with the associated information & verification code.
- if that serial # is used again, and different 'information' accompanies it, host will reject, and not verify.

=================================================================

will this work?
what problems do you foresee?
would anyone be willing to test this with me?

Thanks,
Bob

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Jack
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Sep 2014 16:12
It will work!
But a better and easier way to do this, is by using http commands of AGK.