Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Showcase / [WIP] Aquillanto - 2D Platformer For Mac and PC

Author
Message
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 2nd Dec 2015 17:29
Thanks Rickyzx! Having done Sarah in Candyland you can probably tell just how much work goes into it! Well done on getting your platform game actually finished! I can't see even a dim glow at the end of the tunnel yet! Got the large ant in last night... new monster tonight perhaps...
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2015 14:19
A mystery bug has popped up. My map editor seems to insert a blank row of tiles on maps very very occasionally. I've seen it once in the past but assumed I'd made a mistake but I've got a map that has the error that re-occurrs so at least I've got something to work on. Very odd and no idea yet what it might be. Most maps are fine and on this map all rows before row 27 are fine then bam, a blank row is inserted, then back to normal. If I save the map and re-load its two blanks rows etc. I'm guessing will be a toughie to track down but I've got to find and fix it. Then I can get back to refining some of the character movement and tweaks. Time to put my sherlock hat on….
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Dec 2015 21:09
Could it be as simple as you just have a line somewhere inserting an empty row into the array that stores your map data, and so when the program reads it literally inserts nothing?

I've done that before

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 24th Dec 2015 18:57
I've tracked it down, and bypassed it but not ideal... see thread about it Here

Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 24th Dec 2015 19:47
This one is coming along nicely. I just watched your latest video and I really like how the level looks. It's so much more advanced than my own. Keep up the good work
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 25th Dec 2015 19:14
Cheers DA! The levels are all for testing at the moment. It's a looooong haul project!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2015 12:19
Character has visited the barber and is currently at the tailors....
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
Phaelax
DBPro Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 2nd Jan 2016 19:50
Definitely looking good.

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jan 2016 12:08
Thanks Phaelax

Time over Christmas has meant good progress so thought I'd post the latest updates in a video.

Updates:
Character visuals and animation updated
Character can now shoot whilst on ladders
Character now shoots a continuous stream of ink
Enemy can be assigned stamina so they have to be hit by a certain amount of ink before dying
Enemy emit "hurt splashes" and burst when they die. Three styles of splash, coloured according to enemy
Console updated
Player black hearts (when player suffers damage) updated to be more obvious
New enemy - giant ant and small mini ants

Watch the video in 1080P!



Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
SpecTre
Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 3rd Jan 2016 13:05
Well you can definitely tell you have been working hard on this, it is awesome! Great job. Really like all the effects you have put in this as a platform game is harder than people might think to implement, especially with the features you have!

Would like to see a clip of your ladder features. I know ladders stressed me out for a bit to get them working haha!!
The Amiga and Amos were great!
My website LEAP - Download Paint Pot here!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jan 2016 16:48
Cheers Paul. I'll see if I can add in some ladder action on the next video Work will slow things down a bit now but it's really nice to have got to this stage now, where most of the main game mechanics are working. Still lots ahead though - I've not even designed a single level and I still have 2 more world's of graphics to do! All good fun though!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
SpecTre
Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 3rd Jan 2016 18:45
Yes the graphics are the killer and most painstaking I find when you just want to code but you have all the main elements of the gameplay there so designing the levels with this in place should be straightforward! Well done with this and good luck, it's a great project and you deserve to do well with this.

Going to rework a lot of my Platypus gameplay elements when get the chance before starting with the enemies as I am not totally happy with it. Think the ladders and platform detection still need work. I didn't use raycasting but 6 points on the sprite instead, thinking raycasting might be better?

I applaud your work ethic on this project as my mind wanders from one project to another most days
The Amiga and Amos were great!
My website LEAP - Download Paint Pot here!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jan 2016 19:36
Graphics are indeed the killer! I know exactly what you mean - often I find myself just wanting to do some coding but it requires a few hours/days of graphics work first! Regards the character controller, I don't use any raycasting - like you I use various control points and a function that effectively ray-casts but according to my needs.

I know when I get to the end I'm going to re-visit some of the graphics. The enemy sprites in particular are something I think I'll come back to - to make them more styled. But for now, they work fine so I'll progress other areas...and there are plenty left to work on!

Funny, I used to wander from project to project when I coded with AMOS but I'm really enjoying this project (actually 2-3 when you take into account the map and population editors) so haven't had the desire to wander!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 3rd Jan 2016 21:31
I am really amazed at the progress you have made.

Keep up the great work! Good things are coming your way

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jan 2016 22:18
Thanks! Appreciate the encouragement!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 4th Jan 2016 01:37
I just went back to the first page and read everything from top to bottom pages 1 - 3. I'm still just amazed at the amount of work that has gone into this project.

That level editor of yours is 10.

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 4th Jan 2016 07:51
I like how the player's feet angle with the platform he stands on. That's a cool touch

Are you using the built in physics or did you code your own? I haven't read every post in this thread, I probably should when I have time.
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 4th Jan 2016 15:08
BTW, you should get some sounds and music into the game. It makes a big difference and would make your movies even better.
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 4th Jan 2016 18:09
Hi Crazy Programmer - Thanks! The level editor took quite a while to code - good to have it in the toolbox now!

Digital Awakening - I coded my own character controller to have complete control. Read back near the beginning and you'll see some of the issues I faced! It was tougher than I expected but pretty much exclusively because I use two feet detection points and allow for slopes. Regards sound, you're absolutely right....I need to at least start that part. I have little experience of sound, which is why I guess it's been put to the back...but looking forward to doing some foley!

Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
SpecTre
Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 14th Jan 2016 14:37
@DavidAGK, if I may could I ask you a couple of questions on your project in relation to what I am trying to do on my Platypus game.

I have updated my map editor to create levels of any size and with multiple layers. It is nowhere near as complex as yours but does what I need.
I am currently thinking of the background to the game but not 100% sure on how to do it as I was also thinking of parallax scrolling.

Currently I am creating one big map and rendering this to the screen using Screen Offset:

SetViewOffset(GetSpriteXByOffset(player) - displayCentreX#, GetSpriteYByOffset(player) - displayCentreY#*1.5)


This then keeps the player fixed and scrolls the level around instead and works well, however at the moment the background is black and I was wondering the following:


Is this the method you use to scroll your map?
If it is are you using a large screen sprite which is fixed in the background?
Are you using tiled background?

The other way I was thinking about was to scroll the blocks instead of the screen offset to allow parallax scrolling.

What are your thoughts?
The Amiga and Amos were great!
My website LEAP - Download Paint Pot here!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2016 15:16
Hi Paul,

I use a hybrid system...

For the main map (the one the player interacts with) I am using a large map that is all loaded up at the start of the level and ViewOffset to scroll around it, exactly as you have described. I did some tests early on and this seemed like both an efficient and easy setup. AppGameKit seems to deal very nicely with off-screen sprites from a performance perspective. For the background maps I also use tiled maps (albeit with larger tiles) and calculate how large the map is relative to the foreground map and then move the tiles in a compensated way as the viewoffset moves around so that, for example, by the time you have gone from far left to far right on the foreground map, the same has happened to the smaller background map (and same for vert). Does this make sense? This allows me to have multiple layers of parallax simply by using smaller and smaller map sizes as you go into the distance.

Any help? If not, just ask again and I'll try and be clearer!

Thanks,

David
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
SpecTre
Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 14th Jan 2016 18:26
Cheers David for confirming, at least I know I have it going the right way

Yes it sort of makes sense so will have a good bash at it and also do a bit of research on the old parallax so should be sorted with it. Also like the challenge but if I get too stuck I might pick your brains lol
The Amiga and Amos were great!
My website LEAP - Download Paint Pot here!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2016 19:10
Feel free. I'm at my computer at the moment so can copy and paste code as necessary. It's a while since I coded that part (like a year ago!) so it's a bit fuzzy for me!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
SpecTre
Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 14th Jan 2016 20:31
Cheers mate, will have a good bash first but having a bit of a nightmare at the minute because I upgraded from 15d to 16 and for some reason all my levels have totally messed up, not sure if there is a bug with reading and writing files??? Changed it back to 15d but still doing it. Whats odd though is that I tried it on an older version of the code which worked before too and still messes up the same!
The Amiga and Amos were great!
My website LEAP - Download Paint Pot here!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2016 20:43
OK, best luck hunting it down....
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
blink0k
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 15th Jan 2016 01:12 Edited at: 15th Jan 2016 01:13
i just used a couple of seamless textures to do the parallax. the foreground moves with the camera and the background moves at half that speed.
if you work with the starting position of the first texture the rest takes care of itself.
a) if the first texture's x position is > zero then you would have a gap at the left side of the screen so adjust the x position to accommodate
b) if the first texture's x position is such that the texture not visible (too far to the left) then adjust the position to accommodate
c) then just display the textures end on end

i attached an example to show the calculations

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 16th Jan 2016 20:06
Tough knowing when to stop on the graphics! I've updated the worm and created a new bat creature...and now I feel the other monsters aren't good enough.... So...do I revisit them or carry on?
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
SpecTre
Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 16th Jan 2016 23:21
It's a tough one and something that can be constantly tweaked and messed with. Probably around 80 or 90% of a project I bet is about the graphics. I love the coding and think the graphics is good to a certain extent too but I would rather code as the graphics can get a bit tedious after a bit and is one of the reasons why a project can come to a stand still.

Do you update the graphics along the way though and have code to still look forward to or do you finish all the code and then have all the graphics to sort at the end???

Hmmm......
The Amiga and Amos were great!
My website LEAP - Download Paint Pot here!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 17th Jan 2016 07:44
I anticipate I'll come back and polish some of the graphics towards the end of the project. Tough part is then when I start building the actual levels I'll need to know what enemy I have available and their sizes so it would be good to have those all set. On the other hand it would be nice to see progress in other areas of the game! I think I'll be patient and improve the ones I feel need it whilst I build my first mock levels

As you say, coding is a fun part and in development you can find yourself with a million other tasks to do before any more coding can be done!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 31st Jan 2016 21:37
Sorted out some of the sound functions so enemy sprites now have the facility of emitting sounds and they will automatically have their volume set based on their distance to the player and will have the sound balance (left v right speaker) sorted based on where they are located. Works a treat. I've had a quick muck around with recording sound effects and can see that they are going to be quite a challenge !!! At least the facility is there now. Enemy have been updated to look more menacing and I've added some new ones too. So next step is to create some fully featured maps for the next stage of testing and as general experience of map creation. Looking forward to that! It's taken a looooong time to get to this stage. When I have something to show I'll create another video.
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 4th Feb 2016 03:13
Looks like you have been really busy...Keep up the great work!

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!
NGP
AGK Developer
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Dec 2015
Location: In the studio
Posted: 4th Feb 2016 11:41
Fantastic work and an interesting thread for gleaning tips. Can't wait to see the next video!
AGK Linux user.
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 4th Feb 2016 16:20
Thank you CP and NGP. I'm looking forward to posting another video but need to do a few sounds to demo the new sound functions..... And getting around to those seems to be taking a whole!!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 6th Feb 2016 17:39
£26ish for 2000 high quality sound effects with a clear license agreement.... Having spent half the day recording sounds to find they are all rubbish...I reckon that is a bargain! Another site has 3000 for about the same so I'll try those too.

Note to self...some things are just worth buying!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
SpecTre
Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 6th Feb 2016 19:00
Not bad at the price
The Amiga and Amos were great!
My website LEAP - Download Paint Pot here!
blink0k
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 6th Feb 2016 20:49
is there a link for those sounds?

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 6th Feb 2016 21:44
The two I've found are: Sound Effect Pack and Game Burp I've downloaded the sound effect pack one and I'll be doing the other one soon.

If anyone knows any other good packs of sounds like these let me know!


No affiliation.
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
blink0k
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 6th Feb 2016 21:53
thanks

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 7th Feb 2016 21:07
Building my first fully featured map....

It's 400 x 60 tiles in size with two active layers (player can interact) and a background layer stuck to the foreground and then two additional layers of parallax. It has sixty monsters, some of which fire multiple bullets, some of which are having to sense the ground. The player can shoot a stream of ink (ie lots of bullets) that all need checking against the monsters and there are secret passages and power-ups and on my i5 3.2gHz 4460 CPU, 8gb of ram and a GEForce GTX 750 graphics card I'm getting about 400+ frames per second at 1920 x 1080....

Dead impressed! AppGameKit Rocks!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 7th Feb 2016 21:23
Am I hearing its time for another video

Sign up for NaGaCreMo!
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 7th Feb 2016 22:18
Yes... I'm keen to get a few sounds done first but given I've got a bazllion sound samples now I should be able to put something together sooner rather than later.

Watch this space.....
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2016 12:42
Working on crumbling tiles now so the crates can take a certain amount of damage before they fall apart. I've figured out the rule set and now need to implement it. This will probably be the last generic feature that I'll add. Getting closer every day to being able to start building full levels!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
micky4fun
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2013
Location: uk essex
Posted: 11th Feb 2016 18:47 Edited at: 11th Feb 2016 18:47
Hi All

With time will catch up with some other treads on here , but this caught my eye , as I love platform games
this is looking real good , reminds me to of Superfrog on the Amiga a bit , loved that game
Keep up the good work David , look forward to seeing more , I found it takes ages to do a platform game
here is a link to a short ice level of a game I did a few years ago called For Fox Sake
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kN2uooiEjzM
there are other video if you search , but took a long time going this one ,
so just keep cracking away at it , it will come

good luck and happy programming

mick
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2016 19:30
That's fantastic Mick. What did you code it in? Yes...platform games take a looooong time to code and do graphics for but there's something so inherently fun about them. I loved all the Amiga platformers too - Leander was my favourite. Superfrog was great too.

I've got the technical side of crumbling platforms done now....but now need sounds and animations to complete that feature! Graphics and sound always take longer than the actual coding!!!

Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
micky4fun
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2013
Location: uk essex
Posted: 12th Feb 2016 08:39
Hi David ,

I programmed it with a program called Playbasic , I did do a few other programs first , when I bought Playbasic I knew nothing about programming , so all a learning curve , but I wont get carried away , I probably on a scale of 1 to 10 on programming still only at 4 or 5 I think
and don't think I will improve on that , would need some one to one to get a little higher , but not much as I am not that brainy lol.
But all fun and frustration , I move away from Playbasic about 2 years ago as I wanted to get aboard android game programming and that's why I chose AppGameKit , I will only use tier 1 as know nothing about c++ etc

I did make a level editor to help with my game , but I was pretty useless at doing that as it should have been , I used it for all the tiles and that was about it , the moving platforms etc I did painstakingly 1 at a time in the game code
with the help of BlinkOk who supplied the graphic's it took me on and off a year to do lol , but did not turn out to bad for a game made by me lol

I had a bad year or so , so I had a time out of programming and did nothing , so I am back now mucking about with a few ideas , first one being the Rescue Me game , I do it pretty much for fun ,

I think you are doing a marvellous job with doing both coding and graphics , and the graphics look fantastic by the way , hope you get plenty of spare time to get a end result soon as possible

mick
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 20th Feb 2016 15:56
Hi Mick,

Sorry for delay in reply, I've been away this last week. The "the moving platforms etc I did painstakingly 1 at a time in the game code" made me laugh - that is exactly what I did back in the AMOS days of my programming when I did a platform game! This time around (20 years or so later!) I've done it completely differently. My levels are created with two editors; the map editor where I place the tiles (animated and static) and what I call the population editor where I place the monsters and moving platforms and assign them behaviour attributes. Both editors output text files that are read in the code so it's easy to build ever more complex levels and populate them without touching the main code. The sprite behaviours (I call them actions) are small segments of code and so allow for additional features to be added, again, without touching the main code.

Thanks for kind words on my platform game. It's been a tonne of work so far and a tonne more work ahead but really enjoying it.

Just a few more sounds to do and then I'll get around to making another video. Busy week or two ahead though so probably not in the very near future!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2016 20:53
With the sound issue sorted for the crumbling crates I've just got the animations to do for those and I'll post another video. When I'm doing long hours on animation at work I never feel like doing it in the evenings...so it's slowed a bit!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 6th Mar 2016 21:10
Finally got the crumbling tiles feature finished, hopefully it will add another bunch of exciting opportunities in the levels. Video below. Thanks CJB for help hunting down the sound instance issue. I have a few more sounds to do, then I'll do another longer video that shows all the recent progress. I've updated most of the monsters, added one or two new ones, added sound features etc.



There will be various strengths of crate in the game. The strongest can only be destroyed using your ink pen. THe others creek and then crumble when you stand on them for long enough. THe stronger the crate, the longer you can stand on them. If you jump onto the crates, you do some damage (proportional to the speed/force with which you hit the crate) ad so reduce the amount of time you can stand on them. Player gets an audible creek, then cracking sound to help understand when the crate will collapse as well as crumbling bits/nails falling out just before collapse.
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2016 20:17
A whole evening of directory and file structure organising! This isn't what I signed up for!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
DavidAGK
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 28th Mar 2016 13:59
It's video update time!

Updates:
Most previously made monsters have been updated.
New monsters have been added
New monster actions added, for example the giant ant charging you and wasps firing only when facing the player
Some positional and non-positional sound functions have been added along with some sound effects
Crumbling tiles are fully implemented, though not demo'd here.
Some new tiles to add more variance to background (trees are now customizable and rhododendrons have more variety)

Watch it in 1080P if you can.



Next steps...
I notice the player's arm is ripped from his body at one part of the video so need to track that down, then I want to alter this level to be really tough to test how that feels. Then, I'm starting the actual world 1 level builds! I've started planning them and have some set pieces/segments sketched out. As I build the levels I'll start on the world two graphics. Fun times!
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2018-09-21 15:11:41
Your offset time is: 2018-09-21 15:11:41