Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / 10 years on the forums!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Oct 2014 22:50
I just noticed (while browsing Phaelax's bed design concept thread that went horribly south) that I've been on this forum for 10 years as of about two weeks ago!

There's people who have been on here far longer of course, but it's still amazing to think that I got started with programming using Dark Basic Classic all those years ago (although I think DBP may have already been out, I was late to the party). I owe a lot to TGC and this community for allowing me to become a fairly fluent programmer prior to any formal education.

I don't think there is any other website I've been frequenting for this many years besides Google, everything else seems to come and go. What is it about this place?
wattywatts
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Nov 2014 00:00
Congrats!
Seppuku Arts
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Nov 2014 09:03
Holy poop, I've been here just over 10 years too, by Jove.

I too owe the community a lot, helped me develop the technical side of my brain and learn to embrace my inner geek. Also has provided good and useful advice over the years. Though I barely post nowadays, like you I still bloody lurk the place.

But for reason it is a unique community that manages to make its members like family, it's weird.

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Nov 2014 04:34
Quote: "while browsing Phaelax's bed design concept thread that went horribly south"

lol yeah It started out so well, too

Quote: "I've been on this forum for 10 years as of about two weeks ago!"

Bravo! I'm quite jealous of people that can say they've been here that long